Gone is Gone, and That’s a Good Thing

9 Dec

The song “Wonderwall” reminds me of someone I will likely never see again.

The song “One Headlight” is the same way. I’ll probably never see that person again, either.

With the help of a little technology, chances are I could be in touch with both of these people in seconds. They should both be fairly easy to find. I haven’t done that because I’m pretty comfortable with the idea of not seeing them again, even though I didn’t necessarily want either of them out of my life when circumstances separated us.

A romance writer’s world is filled with possibilities, and stories have certainly been written about the return of the Man Who Got Away. It’s easy to see the allure of those people. Why did he leave? More importantly, why did he come back? More importantly than that, is he even the same person as the Man Who Got Away? And is this new person as intriguing as the one we thought we knew?

I think it’s actually more interesting to freeze the Man Who Got Away in that moment in time just before he got away. Those two places in the past are full of promise. Those really were good times. The details there are still pretty sharp; disappointment and loss were still shadows on the horizon. Those memories in their imperfect form are great places to visit, and they’ve contributed to my present life in ways so subtle I can’t see them all from here.

But as the new year rises up to meet us, I’m happy to keep the past and its citizens where they need to be. Every so often, I’ll hear “Wonderwall” or “One Headlight” and smile to myself, and that’s comfortable for a few minutes, but that’s good enough for me. I don’t even have them on my iPod.

If I’m looking over my shoulder, I won’t see the next Man Who Got Away. And isn’t it more interesting to wonder how he’ll compare to the last few?

Make merry now, and get ready for the new year, everyone! I’ll see you in 2014.

**Alexa Day is hard at work on her second book, but you can score her first novel, ILLICIT IMPULSE, wherever e-books are sold. Keep up with her here on the second Monday of the month or on Facebook.

4 Responses to “Gone is Gone, and That’s a Good Thing”

  1. Marilyn Campbell December 9, 2013 at 1:27 pm #

    Loved this blog Alexa! Great message to get ready for a new year.

    • Alexa Day December 15, 2013 at 3:34 pm #

      Thank you! The only way to be open to new stuff is to close the door on the old. 🙂

  2. naramalone December 13, 2013 at 3:05 pm #

    Great message, Alexa–keep looking forward 🙂

    • Alexa Day December 15, 2013 at 3:32 pm #

      You know it — this train only moves forward. 🙂

Leave a Reply

