Ode to Friday 55

21 Nov

Creativity
There are days
when love of you
makes a promise
shimmering
like June skies
so blue
I want to turn the earth
upside down
and dive
deep
glide through watered silk
to gooey bottom
probing for pearls
mine irritants
transformed to
iridescent orbs
treasure to fill
quickie tales
of adventure and love.
Today wasn’t one.

~Nara Malone

This post is my contribution to dVerse Poets and G-mans Friday 55. Stop by to see what others wrote or to join the fun yourself.

23 Responses to “Ode to Friday 55”

  1. Tony Maude November 21, 2013 at 4:25 pm #

    Short and sweet, Nara – and sensual too … smiles

  2. Mary November 21, 2013 at 4:26 pm #

    I really like the image of gliding through watered silk…..but some days don’t turn out as one would hope them to despite the promising beginning.

  3. Gabriella November 21, 2013 at 4:32 pm #

    You fooled me with your sensual images, until I read the closing line. And I like the title of your poem.

  4. siobhanmuir November 21, 2013 at 4:33 pm #

    LOL Loved the last line, Nara. 😀

  5. brian miller November 21, 2013 at 4:50 pm #

    ha. a little gooey love is not a bad thing at all…sorry today is not one of them…smiles…dive in and find those treasures, surely….smiles.

  6. K. A. Brace November 21, 2013 at 5:14 pm #

    The big build up and well done, for the let down, also equally worked well. >KB

  7. Grace November 21, 2013 at 5:37 pm #

    Too bad today isn’t one ~ That image made me smiles, some days hey ~

  8. freyathewriter November 21, 2013 at 5:57 pm #

    Ha! That last line was a killer… some days just aren’t, are they?

  9. G-Man November 21, 2013 at 7:59 pm #

    Oh I don’t know Nara, you seem to have
    done quite well if you ask me.
    Creativity doesn’t always descend like a sledge hammer.
    Loved your disclaiming 55
    Thanks for playing, Thanks for your wonderful support
    You are such a Peach! Have a Kick Ass Week-End

  10. Rallentanda November 21, 2013 at 8:44 pm #

    All revealed in the last line…made me smile!

  11. Katie (@PunkRockPoet84) November 21, 2013 at 8:45 pm #

    Well done! I love the twist of the last line. 🙂

  12. claudia November 21, 2013 at 11:06 pm #

    haha… yeah…some days are just as they are…it can get better though…smiles

  13. kkkkaty1 November 22, 2013 at 12:41 am #

    LOve ‘June skies so blue’…makes me think of blue jeans, the beginning of summer…tomorrow could only be an improvement 😉

  14. Björn Rudberg (brudberg) November 22, 2013 at 1:24 am #

    Very nice.. Love the searching for pearls

  15. aprille November 22, 2013 at 3:33 am #

    A non-ode to today via your dream wishes. You turned it upside down. Interesting.

  16. Teresa November 22, 2013 at 8:13 am #

    That is my absolute favorite quote! I used to have it hanging in my classroom when I taught writing. 🙂 Your poem is certainly a gem today!

  17. kaykuala November 22, 2013 at 9:02 am #

    The ending is the clincher. Wonderful write Nara!

    Hank

  18. hedgewitch November 22, 2013 at 9:34 am #

    Love the tongue in cheek approach, and the devotion to the cause, as well! I find 55’s to be terribly addictive, myself, though some come easier and dive deeper than others.

  19. Susan Chast November 22, 2013 at 10:42 am #

    Today became one anyway, such is your skill at diving through the irritants to the art.

  20. Other Mary November 22, 2013 at 10:52 am #

    Very sensual, or sensuous, or both. I get those mixed up. But I digress…great write!

  21. Ruth November 22, 2013 at 1:48 pm #

    sad about today not being one of those Fridays… brilliant poem (makes me look forward even more to future Fridays)

  22. Talon November 22, 2013 at 7:45 pm #

    I love when writers use their “lack” of creativity to prove there really isn’t such a thing. Here’s to many more fabulous Flash Fridays. Perfect 55, Nara.

  23. Alice Audrey November 22, 2013 at 8:52 pm #

    Sadly, I am totally there with that last line today.

Leave a Reply

