Halloween Costumes and Characters

31 Oct

Ah Halloween. The time of ghosties and ghoulies, and costumes at schoolies…er, yeah.

Unfortunately, one of my little ghoulies is at home with the ick, but we’re still going to dress up, even if we don’t go out. Dressing up has been a tradition in my family for a long time, and I even continued it when I got old enough to buy my own costumes. Or make them, as the case may be.

One of the complaints I’ve had are the costumes available do little to keep you warm (as small as they are) and in recent years, I’ve had to get more creative when finding something I want to wear. In 2011, I went as a washed up Hollywood starlet, living off her considerable income and glory days.

The Star

I had the dress and gloves and shoes, but needed the tiara.

In 2012, I dressed as a southern belle. The costume was one of the more demure (at least it had a skirt that covered my butt) and I found the parasol in the wedding section of Michaels.

Southern Bell 2012

Southern Bell 2012

But this year, I went all out (and had to start in April to get it done). I dressed up in a coat and hood I made myself, pants meant to look like a skirt, and a corset to give it zing. The hood is from the Assassin’s Creed game and I attached it to the coat, which is a steampunk pattern. The pants I just kinda winged. So I’m a sorceress assassin with great boobs (or something). LOL

Sorceress Assassin 2013

Sorceress Assassin 2013

So how does this relate to writing? The third costume represents my heroine from The Beltane Witch the night of Beltane. It’s fun to dress up like characters from books. How many Harry Potters and Hermione Grangers do you see at this time of year? Characters come alive at Halloween and as writers, we get to offer everyone new characters to love and wear as costumes.

Do you celebrate Halloween by dressing up? Or do you have other holiday traditions for the autumn season?

Thanks for stopping by and Happy Halloween!

4 Responses to “Halloween Costumes and Characters”

  1. Marilyn Campbell October 31, 2013 at 11:37 am #

    You’re adorable in all 3 Siobhan! Personally, I’m a big fan of “dressing up” as different characters I’ve written about. I think my favorite involved thigh high leather boots, a whip & a slave collar….I still have it…just in case…

    • siobhanmuir October 31, 2013 at 11:43 am #

      Oooh, that sounds like a great costume, Marilyn. 😀 I can see you cracking that whip… This year’s costume is my favorite so far. Thanks for stopping by.

  2. Nara October 31, 2013 at 1:18 pm #

    I dress up on character nearly every day. 🙂 Loved your post.

    • siobhanmuir October 31, 2013 at 3:08 pm #

      I love the ability to walk around in something beyond my norm, Nara. It’s really fun, and OpenSim is a huge help with that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

