I’ve Got to Get It in My Ear

8 Jul

Today I don’t have the blues. And that’s a problem.

See, right now, I’m writing some fairly … uncivilized scenes between two of my characters who are about to spend a lot of time together. Seams will give way. Each of them will leave a mark on the other, and I’m not talking about the sweet, emotional brand one might leave on another’s heart. My music of choice for scenes like that is the blues. The blues is all about this sort of thing.

The problem is that it’s tough for me to find enough of the blues online to sustain me until I’m done writing. So much of what I’m finding online is modern blues music, which is not what I’m looking for at all. The newer stuff reminds me of the modern Ford Mustang. The sound it makes is a shallow imitation of the traditional muscle car growl. It’s okay, but a lot of purists would rather do without than settle for the facsimile.

As I started to work today, I ran across Albert King and Stevie Ray Vaughan playing Blues at Sunrise. That’s the sound I’m thinking of. Something bedroomy, for want of a better word. Middle-of-the-night right. That’s perfect for these two, who really might break the bed if they keep at it like that.

Maybe they will break the bed. She would be mortified, but not right away.

Sorry. That’s a random thought. You don’t have to address that.

As I see it, I have a couple of options.

I could dig in and learn enough about the blues that I don’t have to go picking blindly over the internet to find the right sort of music. If I knew enough about the blues, I would know which of these online sources is going to get me closest to the hard, sexual sound I’m looking for. That’s going to take time away from writing, though.

I could replay Blues at Sunrise over and over again. Don’t laugh. I do that with Pink Floyd’s Echoes when I’m writing creepier scenes.

One day, I should probably suck it up and invest in a sound, baseline blues collection. I still have the Smithsonian Classic Jazz collection I used for my college Intro to Jazz class, and I think there’s a similar blues collection. Hmm. If I bought it for this purpose, it might even be tax deductible. Now that’s worth thinking about.

But first, these two have a bed to break.

If you’ve got blues and you can tell me where to get them, let me know in the comments!

**Alexa Day’s Illicit Impulse is a Night Owl Reviews Top Pick! She’s hard at work on her second novel and hopes you’ll keep up with her (and keep her on task) through Facebook.

 

3 Responses to “I’ve Got to Get It in My Ear”

  1. shannonemmel July 8, 2013 at 10:31 am #

    I’ve started using AOL Radio while I’m writing. If you have already tried that, you can pick sub genres within the preferred genre…I think there are multiple listings for Blues, so one of them might work. You may have to check under “Jazz”…

    I totally get music for the mood of what you’re writing…For me, it’s not so much the particular scene as it is a type of music for the entire story. I have one that I associate with soft “new Age” music, another classical, ( Mozart in particular), another Jazz, etc.

    Good luck with finding the right groove…or is that “Write Grove”?

    -Shannon

    • Alexa Day July 8, 2013 at 8:12 pm #

      That sounds like just the thing — I’ve been in iTunes, and the subgenres leave a bit to be desired. I’m going to give that a try!

      I love putting together the various types of playlists for my various types of scenes. This job comes with so many awesome toys, doesn’t it?

  2. Marilyn Campbell July 11, 2013 at 6:37 am #

    And I find whatever I need on my Music Channel on TV! You’re right, there certainly are musical genres that support or counter specific scenes!

Leave a Reply

