Who’s My Creampuff?

26 Jan

Confession time: I love endearments and nicknames. I’ve always gone by a shortened version of my real name and I give endearments/nicknames to friends, family and enemies alike. I very rarely have a character that doesn’t end up with one.

But you have to be careful. While  I can get away with calling a friend Bunnymuffins (yes, you read that right) in real life, put it in a story and it’ll throw the reader out every time.  Sugar, baby, honey and sweetheart are all fine. Sugar Lips, not so much. And don’t even get me started on Candy Yams.

My brain conspires against me. It twitches and sprinkles in the endearments while my back is turned. Generally I have to edit most of these out, but I recently had a project where I could go nuts.

And I abused it with glee! Honeypie! Angelfritter! Pumpkin-puss!  There was no endearment too over the top to use and it felt so good. Of course, the whole story is over the top, so it works.

I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t looking forward to the next time I could do it again, Honeybritches. *sigh* But since the rest of my books are not humorous in nature, I’ve got to know, what’s your favorite endearment?

________________________________________________________

Sasha

Who wants you to be her Babycakes. If you want to hear more of Sasha’s ramblings, visit her at http://www.sashadevlin.com or follow her on Twitter @SashaDevlin. You can also peep her pins on Pinterest here

5 Responses to “Who’s My Creampuff?”

  1. Denise Z January 27, 2013 at 2:42 pm #

    So agree with leaving out of the storyline, but in real like these cause smiles. My favorite for years was snookie-bottoms, but I have since caved to the voice of popular opinion and have stopped – of course all bets are off when frustrated being unable to remember a name and at those time you can definitely find me saying – you know snookie-bottoms! LOL

  2. Nara Malone January 28, 2013 at 9:49 am #

    Sugar is my favorite but I haven’t written a hero southern enough to use it. Now you have me curious and wanting to read your over-the-top project.

  3. Marilyn Campbell January 28, 2013 at 10:11 am #

    I think pet love names can be just as much fun as creative nicknames used for ex-lovers! This has to be a fun book to read Sasha! Do you have a title and/or release date yet?

  4. Leah St. James January 30, 2013 at 5:01 am #

    My husband (of many years) has given me all sorts of nicknames since we met. My favorite is “Pumpkin.” I don’t know why, considering the imagery that comes with it, but I love it! 🙂

  5. madeline iva January 31, 2013 at 8:01 pm #

    Oh, a pet name is the best! We have about five or six long streams of silly names for each of our pets. Your post inspires me and makes me smile. 🙂

Leave a Reply

