Cover up. Or not.

23 Oct

I have a question for you. Do you prefer to see couples on a book cover with or without clothes? I can’t decide which I prefer. I’ve notice that the majority of my covers have half naked people on them and those where bodies aren’t really shown still give the impression of nakedness. So is it a turn on or a turn off? My latest cover for my Dec 1 release, Shut Up And Kiss Me, Β is super hot and considering the story is a short hot read it fits and I have to admit it’s a turn on for me. πŸ™‚

But with all the hype behind that Gray book I’ve noticed a lot of covers turning ‘gray’ and wondered how others felt about them. Personally I don’t like them and they don’t make me stop to look at the blurb. But that’s probably because I like the cover to give a glimpse of the story I’ll find inside the cover. I hate it when the hair color of the heroine is blonde on the cover but brunette or red in the book. I know that’s probably being picky and trivial and all that but it’s a quirk, same as I hate to read series books out of order. πŸ™‚

Anyway, let’s get back to the subject at hand. Clothes or no clothes? What about the covers where just faces appear?

I think Coyote Wild has one of the sexiest covers ever but there’s no real nudity. Sure, it’s hinted at but nothing is revealed, it’s all very subtle and works brilliantly.

And when I’m book shopping the cover plays a big role in whether or not I take the time to read a blurb and that might seem a little shallow, what with us not supposed to judge a book by its cover and all, but I can’t help it. It’s just the way I am. Guess I’m a bit of a cover whore. πŸ˜‰

So what makes you stop to check out a book? Is it the cover? And if so, what makes a good cover in your opinion?

Rhian Cahill

www.rhiancahill.com

4 Responses to “Cover up. Or not.”

  1. Ellen B October 23, 2012 at 5:47 am #

    Since it is the first thing you see you want it to stand out. As for clothes it all depends on the story as to whether they are clothed or not. Sometimes I like it when you don’t see faces because a lot of us try and picture the characters on the cover with the characters in the book. Most of the time its not even close.

    • RC October 23, 2012 at 10:40 pm #

      I agree. I hate it when the cover gives a completely different impression of the characters. As an author I always try to be specific when I request cover art. πŸ™‚

  2. Madison J Edwards October 23, 2012 at 8:37 am #

    Here’s a funny thing – I write erotic short stories, but I’m not drawn to naked covers. For me, I still want a bit of mystery along with a hint of seductiveness that lets me know this is going to be one hot read.

    • RC October 23, 2012 at 10:41 pm #

      I know what you mean but there’s definitely something to be said for a naked set of abs. πŸ˜†

Leave a Reply

