The Wild Ponies of Assateague Island

27 Sep

FirstMorningView

The internet ate my blog post today. Really.  I guess I’ll have to entertain you with pictures of my weekend.

I’m just back from four days roughing it in the wilds of Assateague Island.  Above is the first picture I took on the first morning there. I woke to find a mare and foal grazing just outside the tent.

These are wild ponies. The park rangers say to think of them as bears with hooves instead of claws. You don’t want to do anything to frighten them. They kick, bite, and charge. They can open a cooler and will come into a tent if you have food in there. I didn’t have food in my tent, but I did have a tube of toothpaste in my pack that had me a little nervous. I hear bears are fond of toothpaste. Fortunately ponies aren’t.

DCFC0153 (2)

The first day I biked over in Chincoteague National Park, toured the wetlands in the morning, leaving my bike to hike the various trails.

The beaches were lovely and not crowded.

DCFC0171 (2)

DCFC0181

By the end of the first day a storm was moving in and 20 mph winds were hard on our tents.

DCFC0166 (2)

We stuck out the storm and the next day kayaked the wetlands in search of pony herds.

DCFC0217

DCFC0219

DCFC0223

On our final morning, an entire band of ponies surrounded our camp, a little going away party of sorts.

DCFC0271

DCFC0270

If you ever get the chance to visit Assateague, jump on it. There is nothing like going to sleep to the sound of surf and the high whinny of the wild ponies calling to each other in the dark and then waking up to the same. I came back re-energized and inspired to work on my WIP, Make Me Wet. Keep an eye out for it.

2 Responses to “The Wild Ponies of Assateague Island”

  1. Maria D. September 27, 2012 at 2:02 pm #

    I have visited – unfortunately it was at the peak of the touristy season and dad had no patience…I would love to go back and spend some time there now though

  2. madeline iva September 28, 2012 at 5:28 am #

    So right to beware the horses. Had encounters with half-grown foals growing up. They greet each other by biting, and to them, you are just another weird looking pony. Sounds fun–!

Leave a Reply

