To edit or scrap and rewrite

7 Sep

Like most writers I have books on my computer that will NEVER see the light of day. Well in all my wisdom I decided  to unearth one of those books and try to salvage it . OY what was I thinking? There is a reason this sucker has been sitting in the hard drive wasteland, it is definitely not fit for the world to see.

I still love the storyline and the whole idea behind the book and I hate to see it just sadly sitting there, looking so pathetic and lost. So yep you guessed it I broke down and decided to fix it. Sweet mother of god what was I thinking?

So now I’m DEEP into this editing time-suck and the book is still not reading right, parts of it are alright but still something is missing and I’m not quite sure how to put my finger on it. Probably because I wrote this thing sooooo long ago and it doesn’t quite sound like me anymore. Grrr.

Part of me thinks I should just scrap it and start from scratch. But then throwing away 60K of work is hard to do. I know I could look at it as an outline but holy smokes that’s a labour intensive outline. LOL But hopefully the writing part would go pretty quickly because the book is hugely thought out, way more so then any other book I’ve ever written. And by scraping it I might actually honestly get the book I want. Cue the headbanging.

OY Vey what’s a girl to do?

So since I’m committed to this storyline  it’s decision time. Keep editing this sucker and see what I can do or scrap it and start from scratch.  I hate to admit it but I think I’m leaning towards starting again.

Next time I think I’ll leave well enough alone and leave the old manuscripts  to live their sad little existences in hard-drive space.
Hope you have a wonderful weekend.

~Lauren

http://www.laurenfraser.com
Rough Stock is now available at Amazon, B&N, Allromance, and EC

Leave a Reply

