Adult FANFiction—FANtasy on ‘Roids?

29 Jul

Okay. A few weeks ago, I did a blog about “Fifty Shades of Grey” and all the “buzz” associated with it, but I am by no means an expert on the subject.

I write erotic fiction, as well as romantic, fantasy and paranormal fiction…and I have a regular “day job” that is completely separate from my “Author alter ego”.

There are however, those in my “daytime life” who know I write erotica so, of course, they assume I know all about “50 Shades.”  (Go figure!)  They have questions about the book, how it was associated with the “Twilight” Series, etc…and the most confusing thing to them is the concept of “Fan Fiction.”

I mean, seriously—the easiest way to explain FanFic to someone who has never heard of it, is to show it to them and let them read it… at their own peril, of course.  🙂

It had been years since I’d read FanFic of any kind, so I decided to check out some of the popular sites 1) to see what was out there, 2) to try to better explain it when asked and 3) to give folks who were interested a point of reference.

So—as a result I stumbled upon www.adultfanfiction.net.

For anyone who may have NOT seen a FanFic site, the skill level varies from borderline illiterate to polished and ready for publication.

WARNING: Some of it is just flat out disturbing to even the most open-minded reader.

Also, some is so poorly written it is downright painful and NOT in a good BDSM way…

BUT!

Some have the mechanics of writing well in hand, are excellent story-tellers and with a bit of line editing could probably find a legitimate publisher for their original work.

(“Original” as in change the names and story enough to make it “original”… sound familiar?)

So, I got to thinking about a blog I did back in February, “Sex+Magik=AWESOME!” …

One of the things I pointed out was that the fun, magikal, fantasy stuff seemed to cater to the kids and why was that? After reading some of the current FanFic, there’s a LOT of folks out there who think the same thing and have expressed their fantasies through their writing.

Case in point…The Severus Snape character from the Harry Potter series.

Snape was my personal favorite and I wanted him to have a happy ending, or at least be vindicated in the end.

(HUGE Alan Rickman fan here, so the movies may have made me a bit biased on that count 🙂 )

Anyway…I came across one particular FanFic series and found how the author wove the fantasy around and through the original work, to be quite interesting.

Oh… and the sex was loads of fun, too!

It needs a bit of line-editing, but overall, she did a very nice job of integrating the new “character” into the exisitng story, keeping Snape’s character, IN character and setting up for a happy ending despite the fact that Snape dies in the original…

Hmmmm…or does he?  😉

Here’s the LINK to that story, so take a look and then YOU decide and let me know!

In the meantime…if you want a bit of magik and fantasy designed specifically for adults with no chance of copyright controversy at ALL, check out, “Serving Nicole” the first in the magikal “Passion’s Portal” Series. from Ellora’s Cave.

There’s magik, fantasy, other dimensions and of course, LOTS of steaming hot SEX brought to you by authors Marilyn Campbell, Brandi Evans, Nara Malone, Charlotte Stein, and “moi”, Shannon Emmel!

Check out the Shadowling Manor website for a preview of upcoming stories, magical characters and sooooo much more!

I do LOVE my job!  It’s FANtastic! 🙂

Happy reading!

Shannon

PS: Here’s an ‘Idea Channel” segment on Fan Fic…whooda thought?!!!

23 Responses to “Adult FANFiction—FANtasy on ‘Roids?”

  1. shannonemmel July 29, 2012 at 7:03 am #

    Reblogged this on shannonemmel.

  2. Marilyn Campbell July 30, 2012 at 1:32 pm #

    Thanks for the shout-out!

  3. Nara zmalone July 30, 2012 at 3:20 pm #

    This looks really interesting. I’ll have to read some fan fic when I have all my writing projects complete 😉

    • shannonemmel July 30, 2012 at 7:35 pm #

      Some if it is quite interesting…

      I hope that one of the projects you’re completeing is your installment of our “Passion’s Portal” Series! Can’t wait to read it.

      Still working on “Trial By Fire” myself, so most of my “leisure reading” is on hold as well!

      Thanks for stopping by!

  4. Welkin C. July 30, 2012 at 7:05 pm #

    Thanks so much for the link to my fanfic. I’m flattered that you liked it enough to mention it in your blog. I’m loving my one-shot at writing fiction. Amazing the things a great character will compel you to do…

    • shannonemmel July 30, 2012 at 7:38 pm #

      Welkin! Thanks so much for stopping by!

      Yes… ya GOTTA love Snape! LOL.

      Hope you’ll stop by often and check out some of our “Adult Fiction” as well!

      I know I’ll be watching for more of yours…”Bound and Determined” was adorable 😉

      TTYL!
      -Shannon

  5. shannonemmel July 31, 2012 at 11:45 am #

    OK– Here’s an addition to my blog regarding Fanfiction…

    I ran across another story on the same site- though the idea of “Snape & Granger” never crossed my mind before– I have to admit, I’m hooked!

    Don’t know who this author is but with the exception of a few minor edits, this one is currently at 200+ pages and is soooooo convincing it could truly be a continuation of the original HP series!

    The title is “Broken Dreams” and here’s the link if anyone is intersted.

    http://hp.adultfanfiction.net/story.php?no=600095534

    There is one line in particular that I absolutely love. Just brilliant…especially in context of that particular scene in the story:

    “I’m going to overlook the fact that you’ve just compared me to the boy wonder and the speckled idiot…”

    Any HP or Snape fans out there…ya gotta read this one! LOL

    • Onecelestialbeing July 31, 2012 at 11:58 am #

      OH WOW THANK YOU!!! Yes this story is STILL undergoing more than a few edits, to be honest, it’s very much still unpolished IMHO as I’m still learning as I write. I hope to have a much better version of it soon once I give it to a friend for another read, but thank you so much!!

      • shannonemmel July 31, 2012 at 12:08 pm #

        My pleasure!

        As far as being “unpolished”…

        I believe in calling like it is– with the exception of a few minor line edits, it was as good as most and better that some PUBLISHED NOVELS! ( And my critique partners will attest to the fact that I am NOT gentle. 🙂 LOL)

        As I said, very well done and looking forward to more…

        -S

  6. pooks May 27, 2013 at 9:52 pm #

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. And what a great video. I’m sharing!

    • shannonemmel May 28, 2013 at 8:45 am #

      I thought the video was quite interesting as well. Glad you found it useful!
      🙂
      -S

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. For Fanfics Only « FanFiction Fridays - August 10, 2012

    […] Adult FANFiction – FANtasy on ‘Roids? (passionatereads.com) […]

  2. The Disturbing Origins of Hayley Snape « The Blog That Made No Sense - August 14, 2012

    […] Adult FANFiction – FANtasy on ‘Roids? (passionatereads.com) […]

  3. Tyler Potter Daily #7 « The Blog That Made No Sense - August 16, 2012

    […] Adult FANFiction – FANtasy on ‘Roids? (passionatereads.com) […]

  4. Old Stories written by me | The Write Stuff - August 18, 2012

    […] Adult FANFiction – FANtasy on ‘Roids? (passionatereads.com) […]

  5. No FanFics Allowed! | The Write Stuff - August 18, 2012

    […] Adult FANFiction – FANtasy on ‘Roids? (passionatereads.com) […]

  6. A Brand-New Fic written by Me « FanFiction Fridays - August 24, 2012

    […] Adult FANFiction – FANtasy on ‘Roids? (passionatereads.com) Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. Filed under Fan fiction ← Characters in "The Life & Times of Teddy Lupin" Gone, Bloody Heart → […]

  7. The Secret Lives of Death Eaters Chapter 8 « FanFiction Fridays - August 24, 2012

    […] Adult FANFiction – FANtasy on ‘Roids? (passionatereads.com) […]

  8. Stop Fifty Shades…Read More Fanfiction | West End Singleton - August 25, 2012

    […] Adult FANFiction – FANtasy on ‘Roids? (passionatereads.com) Share this:TumblrTwitterPinterestStumbleUponRedditDiggFacebookEmailLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. […]

  9. Another Fanfic Completed | FanFiction Fridays - September 28, 2012

    […] Adult FANFiction – FANtasy on ‘Roids? (passionatereads.com) […]

  10. No Fanfics Today! | FanFiction Fridays - September 28, 2012

    […] Adult FANFiction – FANtasy on ‘Roids? (passionatereads.com) […]

  11. Fifty Shades of Sherlock Holmes? | planetpooks.com - May 27, 2013

    […] to Shannon for sharing this […]

Leave a Reply

