Opposites attract

17 Jul

Last month I celebrated 24 yrs with Mr.C and it’s come to my attention that we really are opposites in most things. He’s a get it done now kinda guy and I’m a leave it to you have to kinda girl. He needs a plan and I like to go with the flow, you know, do whatever strikes me at the time. In reality my life is very chaotic, I have four kids so I’ve kinda been left without a choice there but he’s all about organization. Take exhibit A –

Mr.C’s desk

Nice, neat, everything in it’s place. Exhibit B –

Rhian’s desk

Yeah, like I said, chaos. 🙂

But here’s the thing about my desk. I know where everything is and I can find it in a second. Mr.C searches for things for hours and then I have to tell him where he’s put them. So I’ve decided he needs order because he can’t remember shit like I do. I have an amazing memory for stupid stuff. Good stuff to but it’s the stupid things I remember that boggle the mind. The kids can ask me where a particular piece of clothing is and I can tell them exactly where to find it even if that somewhere is the bottom of the fourth basket of clean clothes waiting to be folded. My MIL shares my love of reading but she doesn’t read anywhere near as fast as I do. You would think that would hinder our discussions on certain books but noooooo….I can remember fine plot details years after I’ve read a book! Then again I’ve never purchased the same book twice by accident because even if those tricky publishers change the cover all it takes is a read of the title or at most the blurb and I know whether I’ve read the book or not.

But back to that opposites attract thing. It works for me and Mr.C really well. And I guess we kinda proved that by surviving this long. Especially seeing how no one thought we’d last a month when we got married. You see we’d known each other a few mouths before we ‘hooked up’ but it only took us three months to get married. Yeah, we don’t let the grass grow under our feet that’s for sure. Add in that we were 19 and 18 and I can totally understand why people would have been skeptical or at least whispering about an unexpected pregnancy. (I’ll add Son#1 was born 18 months after we got married.) I know most of our friends and certainly our parents were shocked but you know I don’t think we even thought about it at the time. It was one of those rare things you hear about in romance novels. Girl meets guy and instantly knows he’s the one. Being a guy he of course took a while to get with the program. 🙂 But I think I’ve straightened him out now. 😆

So what’s your opinion or experience with opposites? Does it work?

Rhian Cahill

www.rhiancahill.com

One Response to “Opposites attract”

  1. naramalone July 19, 2012 at 4:07 am #

    I’m more like you Rhian and my desk is way more chatoic. 😦

Leave a Reply

