Bribing the Muse

5 Jul

snowleopard

This is my muse. I call her Snow. You don’t have to be a cat owner to figure out which one of us is the boss. We’re both so stubborn that we spend more time locked in conflict than making progress. I’d probably never get anything done if it weren’t for a mutual weak spot–neither of us can resist a good challenge.

So when Siobhan Muir asked me if I could put together an avatar interview with one of her characters and somehow blog it, Snow and I were intrigued. Synapses fired, ideas popped. It was like the fourth of July in my brain. It wasn’t easy. It took lots of prep work and retakes and finding ways around obstacles. After much frustration the three of us managed to deliver Siobhan’s wish for an interview that was more than just words on a page.

When Marilyn Campbell saw it, she asked if I could do something similar for her. Only she wanted a video trailer that was more than a Power Point presentation.

I didn’t think I could do it. I’d done one trailer and, while it wasn’t a Power Point trailer, it was put together from static images, not  video. Plus working with an avatar is like trying to interview a preschooler. They won’t stay put. They keep looking away from the camera, popping out of their chairs, and getting themselves stuck in peculiar places.

Naturally Snow was of the opposite opinion. And her ideas didn’t involve anything that Marilyn asked for. She kept flashing me mental images of lovers on a beach and a goddess dancing to the beat of tribal drums.

I plowed ahead with the character interview Marilyn asked for and the second time around it went much smoother. What I couldn’t figure out was how I could turn that into a book trailer. When I loaded all my material into the Mac, Snow ignored what I had done to that point and took charge.  We did things I didn’t know were possible.

The result wasn’t what Marilyn asked for, but she was thrilled with the final product. Snow, of course, is gloating and thinks she should be in charge all the time. I’m not ready to agree. Yet. But I like what we came up with too. Check it out and see what you think.

5 Responses to “Bribing the Muse”

  1. siobhanmuir July 5, 2012 at 12:08 pm #

    Wow, hot stuff, Nara! You and Snow came up with a great trailer. Glad I could help. 😀

  2. Marilyn Campbell July 5, 2012 at 12:17 pm #

    I am really tickled that I had anything to do with the final product. It is soooo different from the norm & very very cool. Thank you Nara & thank YOU Snow! I love it.

  3. PaParanormalFan July 5, 2012 at 8:00 pm #

    Wow Nara, Very Sensual & Erotic, I Loved this Book Trailer, it was very creative & the music was so fitting. Absolutely Wonderful!
    Take Care & Stay Naughty,
    Renee’

  4. mywithershins July 7, 2012 at 9:35 pm #

    Fabulous trailer! You may have to give in and let Snow have her way more often! lol

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Serving Nicole {#Book Trailer} » - July 18, 2012

    […] For an animated trailer I’m impressed. Who knew animation dancing sensuously to music could be mesmerizing?! I have to admit, I had to watch this one through to the end and yes I did read the character interview since there’s no voice. You can read more about the trailer from Passionate Reads on Malone’s blog post Bribing the Muse. […]

Leave a Reply

