Repeat after me…you’re never too old to–

4 Jul

OK, just to set the record straight, I’m not ancient by any stretch of the imagination. For one, I have too many kids to keep me active for that :). For another…I think in my head I’m still somewhere in my early thirties and man, I plan to keep it that way!

Being an author is my second career. I’ve already had one very successful career, about as far away as you can get from writing, in the IT industry. I can look back on this now and how it developed with some objectivity, but really…I surpressed my creative side for my more practical side. You know, I did want to eat back then. On a regular basis :). So I did a business degree in college and put everything else on the back burner. Don’t get me wrong. I enjoyed what I did. I was good at it. I achieved all the goals career-wise and financially I set myself, but…it didn’t light my soul on fire.

it wasn’t that long ago, but I didn’t start writing until I was forty *mumble, mumble* something. At first, it was just an exercise to keep my over-active brain occupied when I quit working to spend more time with my family. And what do you know? It didn’t take long for me to ‘remember’ that this is what I always wanted to do, this is what I’d wished for, hoped for, dreamed of doing in the darkest, most secret recesses of my mind. I sorta, kinda feel like I’ve started over. Emotionally. Spiritually. But hey, that’s OK because I’m finally doing something that really feeds me. My soul, that is :).

On this American Independence Day I’ve been reflecting about where I’m at and where I’m going with being an author. It’s a pretty exciting place to be but I’ve learned a lesson, especially with friends facing terribly health issues this year. Life is too short. It’s never too late. It’s never over till it’s over. And you’re never too old to follow a dream, no matter how big or small.

Happy 4th of July to those who celebrate. May you spend happy times with family and friends, stuff yourself with delicious food, stay safe and think about living YOUR dream.

And just for fun…how would you finish this sentence…  You’re never to old to–?

3 Responses to “Repeat after me…you’re never too old to–”

  1. Marilyn Campbell July 4, 2012 at 8:15 am #

    For me it’s never too old to have an adventure. ‘Course I’ll admit the adventures I’ve embarked on were a wee bit wilder in earlier days… Two more things we have in common Kaily, I started writing when I turned 40, and in my head I’m still 35!

  2. naramalone July 5, 2012 at 6:56 am #

    Try something new. Take a risk. Head out in a different direction. Do what can’t be done. 🙂 It’s great seeing people go after their dream.

  3. mywithershins July 6, 2012 at 11:49 am #

    Like you, I started writing in my 40-somethings, too, so I can relate to the ‘never too late to…’. adage. 🙂

Leave a Reply

