Magic Mike to the Rescue!

1 Jul

So. I’ve spent the past month packing, moving, unpacking, reorganizing and just trying to get a handle on the chaos that seems to be my life right now. Add to that practically non-existent internet service and not only is the creative process for WiP’s seriously stalled, but even keeping up my blogging schedule is a nearly impossible.

I am 1 of 3 published authors in a long standing critique group. All 3 of us have moved in the last 30 days and are stuck in various phases of transition. Not sure how we managed that, but it is what it is…

A stage of Limbo that vacillates between heaven and hell depending on how the wind blows.

None of us are actually “homeless”, and there is a master plan, but we are all in temporary arrangements until we get into our “permanent digs”.

I have a cousin who volunteered to come to Florida from Pittsburgh to help me move (again) when it’s time. Family always worries when you’re not “settled” somewhere, but despite the “buyer’s” market I’m just not in a hurry for permanent housing until I find what I want.

Since I have a rather a twisted sense of humor, to put her mind at ease I sent her the following message:

“I’ve found a lovely spot just down the street at the Turnpike overpass. I have a spacious side-by-side refrigerator box and since it’s attached to the parrot’s cage, it’s quite stable in winds up to 10MPH. My two chihuahuas, Luna & Daisy, have assumed new identities, “Killer” and “Machete” to provide a little more street cred and help scare off potential intruders in the new neighborhood.  My 87 yr old mom’s AC went out last week, so she’s turning tricks over at 5th and Dixie to raise money for the repairs. It’s going well and she should have enough to get it fixed by Christmas. Other than that, things are about the same. Looking forward to your visit… see you soon!”  🙂

She read the message right after Zumba class, laughed so hard she cried and then shared the text with some of her “Zumba-nistas.”

Oddly, the consensus of the group was that, “..she should write for a living…”

LOL…Go figure.

I’d LOVE to be writing, but since the perpetual transition (and chaos) that seems to be surrounding me right now is keeping the creative juices from flowing, what’s a gal to do?

I have TWO words—

MAGIC MIKE!

I figured a mostly naked Matthew McConaughey would at least get my mind going in the right direction, BUT!

I wasn’t counting on all the OTHER prime eye candy in the flick. LOL

I knew Channing Tatum was in the movie, but had no idea he looked THAT good  buck-naked. I DIDN’T know  Matt Bomer (White Collar) and Joe Manganiello (Alcide – True Blood) were also in the flick, and equally “Neckked” and stripoliscious!

All-in-all it was a great “girls night out” and quite…inspirational.

Enjoy YOUR Sunday!

Shannon

10 Responses to “Magic Mike to the Rescue!”

  1. Cheryl Dragon July 1, 2012 at 6:21 am #

    Well, I’m definitley going to see the movie!! lol….and Hugs Shannon:) Sounds like FL is the place to be though!!

    • shannonemmel July 1, 2012 at 1:05 pm #

      Yes– movie was VERY entertaining! Definitely worth the price of admission…and then some! LOL

  2. Marilyn Campbell July 1, 2012 at 7:14 am #

    Holy six-pack Bat-Girl! Those pics certainly woke me up on this lazy Sunday morning! Didn’t realize Matt Bomer was also in the movie…the casting agent must have read my lascivious thoughts on this one! As one of those 3 displaced persons you mentioned, I think we need to ask Diane Lane how she found that rundown house in Tuscany or if Meryl Streep would consider giving us her b&b in Greece…oh wait, I’m mixing reality and fantasy again. How about a b&b in Lake Worth?

    • mahalia2010 July 1, 2012 at 11:17 am #

      OMG! You know I had to do a double take when they showed…the you know what? Talk about wowza did I see that. I went to the early show with two of my girlfriends. My sister and our other group of 15 friends went to the fork and screen show at 1015. THat was the only show that was left where they could all sit in a row. We bought our tickets on Monday four days before the movie released! We had a blast and got our drool on!

      • shannonemmel July 1, 2012 at 1:11 pm #

        I know EXACTLY what scene you’re talking about! LOL
        That was the Joe Managaniello character, “Big Dick Rick”… behind the screen.

        Appropriately named, don’t ya think? 🙂

        –Shannon

    • shannonemmel July 1, 2012 at 1:09 pm #

      How about “S&M’s B&B and Halfway House for Displaced Authors”

      Doesn’t have quite the same ring as “Best Exotic Marigold Hotel”, but it could work.

      🙂

      Glad I put a smile on your face!

      Enjoy!

      -Shannon

  3. shannonemmel July 1, 2012 at 1:23 pm #

    Reblogged this on shannonemmel.

  4. ak.hand d man July 2, 2012 at 7:06 am #

    . Darn, and I am stuck in the . Alaskan outback organizing a gunpowder, dynamite, and gasoline gathering. A simple pleasure’s party. Ah, the things we do for fun on the 4th of july. What ? Didn’t they say every thing is biger in Alaska ? Well at least the days are longer !

    • shannonemmel July 2, 2012 at 8:43 am #

      Hey… a gal’s gotta do what she can to stay inspired.

      Sounds like you’ll be celebrating the 4th with a “bang”… not the kind I had in mind, but whatever works for you!

      🙂

      Shannon

  5. gaildeyoung1 July 15, 2012 at 1:58 pm #

    Yep, the movie caught my attention at the very beginning when Channing Tatum got out of bed stark naked and walked away. I go to mush looking at a naked tush and was his beautiful~ I was wide awake through all the dance scenes, too! I’m definitely buying that one for my collection when it is available. 🙂

Leave a Reply

