Cover Love + MD Giveaway

13 May

Once upon a time in the strange land of Publishing, an author had little or no input into the cover design of her book. My worst experience was when another author was late completing her manuscript and mine was in early, so the Publisher simply switched our release dates. As this occurred in the days prior to computer-generated covers, there was no time to have artwork done for my novel, so they just used the one created for the other author’s book. It didn’t matter that nothing about that cover was relevant to my story. Apparently I was lucky they changed the back-cover blurb.

As the years went by and my sales numbers increased, I was permitted to make limited cover suggestions and, more often than not, I got something I was happy with. In fact, once, because I asked for a long-haired hunk on a motorcycle, they managed to get a Harley into the artist’s studio by standing it upright in the office building’s elevator. That effort more than made up for the earlier disappointment. ย 

Publishing has changed drastically since I was a newbie. An author doesn’t need to be a star to have cover input. I am thrilled to say that every cover Ellora’s Cave’s artists have created for my books has been outstanding and the newest is no exception. SERVING NICOLE is the first of a magickal, erotic romance series and the cover art is absolutely perfect for the story. (Release date to be announced.)

As a reader, what draws your eye on a cover? A clinch? Naked flesh? Storyline suggestion? Colors? Tone? Whether or not you are celebrating Mother’s Day, I have a gift for someone. One commenter will win his/her choice of one of my e-books featured here.

And now, in honor of Mother’s Day, here’s the link to the Mother’s Day (MILF’s) blog posted by my pal Shannon Emmel last year (I couldn’t compete with that one.) http://passionatereads.com/2011/05/08/the-%E2%80%9Cmutha%E2%80%9D-of-all-blogs%E2%80%A6-a-mother%E2%80%99s-day-m-i-l-f-smackdown/

Wishing you many Passionate Reads,

Marilyn Campbell

www.marilyncampbell.com; FB: authormarilyncampbell; TW: marilyncampbel3

10 Responses to “Cover Love + MD Giveaway”

  1. Michelle Vasquez May 13, 2012 at 5:11 am #

    Covers continue to be important even today with ebooks. When I see an ebook without a cover, I won’t buy it or even look at it any further. As for what draws me, well, lots of things will draw my attention, but who can resist a sexy book cover?! I like for the cover to at least be a little relevant to the story. Abstract covers don’t really draw my attention.

  2. caitymack May 13, 2012 at 11:35 am #

    You really have been blessed by the cover goddess, Marilyn. The colors in a book cover will catch my eye, and I since I read erotic romances, I love a sexy torso shot. A clinch will work for me too, as long as the cover models match the story characters.

  3. Yadira A. May 13, 2012 at 3:23 pm #

    Happy Mother’s Day!!!

    What draws my attention to covers is definitely the naked flesh, but also the coloring and title. If the cover is suggestible to the storyline that helps too, especially since it sets the tone for what I would be reading.

    yadkny@hotmail.com

  4. Marilyn Campbell May 13, 2012 at 7:30 pm #

    Thanks Caity & Yadira. Since I have the opportunity to request specifics, it really helps to hear what attracts readers.

  5. PaParanormalFan May 14, 2012 at 2:13 am #

    Hello Marilyn,

    I ABSOLUTELY LOVE Cover Art!!!!! This is silly, but that was the Main reason I didn’t get a Kindle, I wanted Color on my eReader so I could see all my Beautiful Eye-Catching Sexy Book Covers ALLLLLLL on Display in my Reader. ๐Ÿ™‚ I have to say Marilyn that you definitely have Very Sexy, Sensual Cover Art.

    I Love Cover Art to Grab Me, Be so Eye-Catching that I Cannot pass by a Book. I want “Real EyeCandy” coming right out at me, colorful…..Erotic Allure, Passionate, Sexy…..& of course having the Cover Art related to the premise of the Book. I won’t name Books because that just wouldn’t be right since I have found a lot of Authors don’t have much say into their Cover Art….but the Characters on the Cover could not be more different than the Hero/Heroine described in the pages of their Book.

    I don’t particularly like the cartoon-type/animated covers, I what to see FLESH!!! LOL I want the Cover Art to “Hook Me”, it’s the chance to show a brief flash of the story, teasing the Reader in what Erotic Passion lays ahead for their reading pleasure….So Buy ME!! LOL

    Can you tell I spend a lot of time LQQking at & critiquing Cover Art, it’s just a Favorite of mine. ๐Ÿ™‚ & you have a Fantastic Artist for your Books Marilyn, they are Beautiful & do tell a story….not to mention the EyeCandy!!! WoooHoooo!!! LOL

    I would very much appreciate the opportunity to be considered in your very generous giveaway for a chance to will win choice of one of your e-books featured here on your Guest Post, “Cover Love + MD Giveaway” at Passionate Reads. Thank You.

    Take care & Stay Naughty,
    PaParanormalFan (Reneeโ€™ S.)
    paranormalromancefan at yahoo dot com

  6. Marilyn Campbell May 14, 2012 at 6:09 am #

    Michelle, Caity, Yadira & Renee – Thank you so much for your comments! You ALL earned yourselves a free e-book. Please let me know your choice and the email addy you’d prefer it be sent to, either as a post here or directly at info@marilyncampbell.com. Blurbs for each can be found on my site, http://www.marilyncampbell.com.
    Renee, love your enthusiasm!

    • Michelle Vasquez May 14, 2012 at 6:19 am #

      Thank you! Oh no! Now I have to choose! I’ll shoot you an email after I make my agonizing decision. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • PaParanormalFan May 15, 2012 at 12:16 am #

      WOW, Thank You soooo much Marilyn!!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ I am sooooo Thrilled to have won a Gift of one of your e-books.

      I do tend to get carried away once I start writing LOL same as when I talk ๐Ÿ™‚ well especially when it’s a topic a really enjoy talking about…..& I just LOVE Cover Art!

      Sorry if I got a little too carried away, but it does show I really spend quite some time LQQking at an Author’s Cover to their Books. I feel a Cover created for an Author should compliment that Author’s Incredibly Impressive, Imaginative Mind.

      The written words of an Author, from the very first page until the last page is turned, is their Work of Art for their Fans, creating An Ultimate Fantasy for Us. I feel they deserve Eye-Catching Cover Art for their hard work & time put into writing their Books.

      Here I go again, go off, writing too much as usual. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank You Again Marilyn for being so generous & letting Us select from your website. I’ll be LQQking at your site & write you again. You’re probably saying, Ohhhh Noooo, another Post from Renee”. LOL You’re eyes will get tried of reading. LOL

      Take care & Best Wishes,
      PaParanormalFan (Reneeโ€™ S.)
      paranormalromancefan at yahoo dot com

    • PaParanormalFan May 15, 2012 at 1:15 am #

      OMG I just noticed “PRIMAL BEAT” is one of the Books you have posted above!!!!! I would LOVE to read this Book!!!!

      I didn’t recognize it at first, You know your getting old when you have to add a bifocal to your nearsighted glasses LOL & I just had another B-Day, Oh No! LOL

      I Now remember finding out about your Erotic Romance, “PRIMAL BEAT” & viewing your Very HOT Book Trailer in a Post writtten by Shannon Emmel & she featured your Book.

      Of course I wrote one of my longgggggg, but quite Naughty ๐Ÿ˜‰ Posts there. LOL I Love the Shannon’s Post so much, I reblogged it on my Page.
      http://paparanormalfan.wordpress.com/2012/03/12/24/

      I would very much appreciate the generous Gift of your Book, “PRIMAL BEAT” if it is available in e-book format. Thank You so Much Marilyn.

      Take care & Stay Naughty,
      Renee’ S.
      PaParanormalFan
      paranormalromancefan@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

