Moms Want Sex Too

7 May

The Passionate Reads authors are pleased to welcome today’s guest blogger, Mandy Harbin, author of DARKEST SIN

MILFs have a reason to strut in their tennis shoes on their way to their minivans before heading to the grocery store to get food for dinner and picking up their little prides of joy from ball practice. Okay, so the generalized stereotype is overused but hopefully you understand what I’m getting at. A MILF, or a Mom I’d Like to F*ck for those of you who don’t understand the acronym, might be all those things, but even if she possesses all the stereotypes imaginable—or not—she is still a woman. Cue the cheesy 70’s anthem.

If famous Hollywood moms have taught us anything it’s that moms can be sex symbols too. And let’s face it—chances are the average mom didn’t attain her parental status by being celibate. Sex is a part of life. So why do we not see many motherly characters in erotic romance? I’m a mom. I like sex. Hell, I love it. And I love to read. I read to escape, but there has to be enough realism for the story to be plausible… Even those paranormal alien stories. As a reader, if I don’t connect with a book on some level, I don’t finish it. I don’t think there is anything abnormal about these characteristics compared to other moms out there. We’ve already established moms can be hot and they can enjoy sex just like their non-maternal counterparts. So what gives?

The answer is simple. It’s not about the moms in the world but the kids. When I submitted DARKEST SIN to my totally awesome editor, she warned me up front that having kids in erotic romance is very difficult to pull off. Honestly, this wasn’t something I’d considered when laboring long days and weeks and months cultivating this book. Looking at it from that perspective I could understand her concern. How many other moms out there have gotten interrupted when trying to get their groove on? We may want sex but children represent responsibility. Did I stop having sex when I gave birth? Definitely not. But by writing a single mom as a heroine, I opened up my story and characters to natural judgment. We don’t want readers to be too focused on how they’d punish the heroine’s child if he or she was her own child. We want the readers to focus on the hot hunk that wants to ravish us, er, I mean the heroine.

To some, writing about hot moms might be tricky, but to me this was one more facet that created my character. All philosophical, religious, and the like aside, without moms none of us would be here. We rock. Can you still hear the cheesy 70’s anthem above my roaring?

Here’s a little bit of info about DARKEST SIN and Brody’s MILF:

Alexandria Collins learned the hard way not every man can be trusted. After her husband tried to kill her, she and her son went under FBI protection where they’ve spent the last ten years. Her trust issues with men have created a nonexistent sex life. But when they move to a small Arkansas town, she’s drawn to the biggest, hottest man she’s ever seen.

Brody “Brutus” Jackson is immediately attracted to Xan when her hot little body walks into the shop where he works as a mechanic in an official capacity, and as a mercenary unofficially. He knows instantly she’s off-limits. He doesn’t do single moms—too much baggage—but more importantly, he knows her from somewhere…a dangerous sign since he only remembers the last twelve years of his life, and what he’s learned of his past needs to stay buried.

He fights his overwhelming desire, but when he discovers his assignment is her protection, he realizes how easily one hot little momma can bring him to his knees…and how difficult facing who he was can be.

If you want to keep up with me, you can like my Facebook fan page http://www.facebook.com/Author.MandyHarbin and/or follow me on twitter @mandy_harbin. It’s not stalking if it’s welcomed.

8 Responses to “Moms Want Sex Too”

  1. Marilyn Campbell May 7, 2012 at 9:34 am #

    Welcome to PR Mandy! Darkest Sin sounds like my kind of read!

  2. April Vine May 7, 2012 at 11:17 am #

    Hey Mandy!

    Great post! It really is all about the execution and Darkest Sin sound yummy!

  3. Cristal Ryder May 7, 2012 at 4:16 pm #

    Loved this post Mandy. Tweeted ya!

  4. siobhanmuir May 7, 2012 at 6:11 pm #

    What a great post, Mandy! I wish you all the luck in your story. I’m writing an erotic romance of a widowed mom of two and you’re right, having the kids around is tricky, but they made the character so much more rich and strong. I’ll be curious to hear the reactions to your tale. 🙂

    • Mandy Harbin May 7, 2012 at 7:55 pm #

      Thanks 🙂 It was tricky, but like you said, I felt like it was just part of who my character was. So far, all my reviews have been 5 star reviews and the book was even nominated for Book of the Month from Sensual Hot Reads. So the reaction has been way beyond my expectations. 🙂

  5. Mandy Harbin May 7, 2012 at 7:52 pm #

    Thanks April and Cristal! 🙂

  6. shannonemmel May 7, 2012 at 8:31 pm #

    Welcome to Passionate Reads, Mandy!
    Your book sounds like a great read…and the perfect Mother’s day gift…from me to me!

    -Shannon
    🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Some Moms Use Cellphone During Sex | SNS Post - May 11, 2012

    […] Moms Want Sex Too (passionatereads.com) […]

Leave a Reply

