Never Give Up. Never Surrender!

15 Apr

Sci-fi fanatics (or Tim Allen, Alan Rickman & Sigourney Weaver fans) instantly know the title of this blog is borrowed from “Galaxy Quest”, but it also happens to be my personal mantra. Mind you, I have my down-in-the-dumps times like everyone else, but I have a few tricks to pull myself back up that hill when I’ve been down there too long. Recently I was sent an inspirational video that is as good of a trick as any to remind everyone to Never Give Up, Never Surrender. Here’s the gist  –

 

Before they achieved their success…

J. K. Rowlings was a broke, depressed, single mother

Oprah Winfrey was fired, called unfit for TV

Marilyn Monroe was dropped by producers and called unattractive

Sigmund Freud was booed, called an outcast

Elvis Presley was fired from his first gig and it was said “he ain’t going nowhere”

Fred Astaire was summed up as, can’t act, can’t sing, slightly bald, can dance a little

Dr. Seuss was a drop out and rejected

Winston Churchill failed 6th grade but became Prime Minister of GB at 62

Not everyone knows I received 76 rejections from publishers before I finally sold my first book in 1991. And now, at the RT Convention Awards Ceremony on April 13, 2012, I am being presented with an industry Pioneer Award.

Never Give Up. Never Surrender. Yep, that’s me all over.

Marilyn Campbell

www.marilyncampbellfb: authormarilyncampbell; tw: marilyncampbel3

4 Responses to “Never Give Up. Never Surrender!”

  1. mywithershins April 15, 2012 at 10:05 am #

    Congrats on the award – quite the honor! I bet a lot of those people who rejected, ignored or underestimated all those famous people are kicking themselves right about now, just like those 76 publishers who sent you rejections! BTW, I love watching ‘Galaxy Quest’ and their motto is a good one to remember! 🙂

  2. siobhanmuir April 15, 2012 at 5:13 pm #

    Congratulations on the award, Marilyn! That’s terrific. “Never give up, never surrender” is my favorite line from the movie and something I always tell new writers. And from one Scot to another, it’s typically Scottish to never give up and never surrender. Great blog post. 🙂

    Siobhan

  3. shannonemmel April 16, 2012 at 8:35 am #

    Major Congrats on the Pioneer Award! I read all of the steamy futuristic you wrote…BEFORE it was “in fashion”. What can I say? You were and are ahead of your time. Glad it was finally recognized!

    –Shannon
    🙂

  4. Howard Jackson April 25, 2012 at 6:00 am #

    Sorry to spoil a good story but Elvis was not fired from his first gig. He flopped at the Gran Ol Opry but this was not his first appearance.

Leave a Reply

