That Conference Thing I Do

7 Apr

This time next week I will be eyebrows deep in my first conference of the year, Romantic Time’s Booklover’s Convention.  This is the second largest romance based convention and the biggest one I’ve ever gone to.

I know many people are nervous, but I’m just excited.  As an extroverted writer, this is my trifecta: people, books and other like minded writers. I love the romance community and don’t get a lot of chances to partake in the delicious creamy center in my day to day business.

But I know several of my peeps will be more like this:

So here are Five Tips for a Smooth Conference Experience:

1) Smile. No seriously, stop looking at me like that. Everyone hopes to see a happy face, so be that face. I understand being too timid to strike up a conversation, but a smile never hurt anybody.

2) Don’t be afraid to sit next to a stranger. Yes, I’m asking you to take a chance and be a teensy bit brave, but I have faith in you. There will be hundreds of people there, and most will start to talk to you if you’re on the perimeter.

3) Hang in the bar. Even if you don’t drink anything stronger than water with lemon. It’s a great place to meet social people and make connections.

4) Don’t run. If someone approaches you, stay and talk even if it’s just for a few minutes. The romance community is full of some amazing people, and honest to Bob creepers are going to be few and far between here. Then again if someone asks to put a saddle on you, just say no.

5) Find me! I live for these things and if you’re shy, I’ll just bring you with me…most likely to the bar.

________________________________________________________

Sasha

Who really does hope you find her and say Hi!  She’ll be the giddy girl with the goofy grin. If you want to hear more of Sasha’s ramblings, visit her at http://www.sashadevlin.com or follow her on Twitter @SashaDevlin

 

5 Responses to “That Conference Thing I Do”

  1. mahalia2010 April 7, 2012 at 9:37 am #

    Great post! I’ve only been to one convention and that was last year it wasn’t RT but EAA hosted in Vegas. I am going to Lori’s get together. I couldn’t afford RT this year, but next year…RT is in my backyard. Literally. I live right off the highway and about a 15 min drive from downtown KC. I’m super excited. Not sure I’ll book a hotel room though. I hope to meet you next year! Have a safe and fun trip 😛

  2. Marilyn Campbell April 7, 2012 at 10:05 am #

    Great advice Sasha! I’ve attended most RT’s for the last 2 decades & you mentioned the number one thing not to be missed…GO TO THE BAR & Hang out! I will look for you to say hello!

  3. Kaily Hart April 7, 2012 at 9:48 pm #

    Can’t wait to see you again, Sasha!! I’m excited for the conference AND getting anxious. I haven’t packed a thing yet LOL.

  4. mywithershins April 10, 2012 at 9:04 am #

    I haven’t been to any RT conventions, but have been invited to speak at a couple of writers festivals on the topic of YA. You gave good advice to the more timid ones who might attend. I used to be like them, but now, I love the interaction. Most fellow writers are just like you and it’s nice to know you’re not in this alone. Once you strike up a conversation, you’ll find you have more in common with them than you think, even if you run across a best-selling author. They had humble beginnings, too!

    BTW, I liked your ‘saddle’ comment. 🙂

  5. shannonemmel April 16, 2012 at 9:45 am #

    Can’t wait to hear the “Scoop” from RT!

    Shannon

Leave a Reply

