Late To the Party …Again

24 Mar

For the most part I stay in the know of most things, but I’m woman enough to know when I’ve missed the boat.

Like with the Keurig:

I resisted this for as long as I could and then had a wild, intense affair with stalking one — to the point of conjuring elaborate reward systems to “earn” a Keurig. My sister took pity on me and got me one for Christmas. I’m dreading the warmer weather because I won’t use it *as* much.

 

 

 

 

Or when I refused to watch 30 Rock for years, caught one by accident and
then wished I had a time machine… and a black belt so I could kick my own butt.  This show is hilarious and as a writer I appreciate smart writing in a way I know the average viewer does not.

 

 

 

But probably my biggest current shame is The Hunger Games. I know, I know, don’t kill me! I actually read Suzanne Collin’s other series (Gregor the Overlander) before the Hunger Games were out. I devoured these books. They made me laugh, cry and skip showers and sleep blowing through them. I was incensed that people hadn’t read the Gregor books.

I — in my infinite crazytude — decided not to read them in protest. Don’t look at me like that. I freely admit it wasn’t my best plan. But now that all of my friends have read the books and the movie is out I’m filled with a teenage level of angst that I’m the only one who doesn’t know what the fuss is about, and I won’t know until I get a few more things off my plate.

*dramatic swoon*

Please tell me I’m not the only one who missed the boat on this one. Or at lie to me and make me feel a little less angsty.

________________________________________________________

Sasha

Who just might combust into flames of deprivation by the time you read this. If you want to hear more of Sasha’s ramblings, visit her at http://www.sashadevlin.com or follow her on Twitter @SashaDevlin

4 Responses to “Late To the Party …Again”

  1. mywithershins March 24, 2012 at 2:36 pm #

    Sasha, don’t feel bad. I am ashamed to say I haven’t read them either, despite having friends, nieces, and nephews raving about them! They are on my TBR list, though.

  2. Kaily Hart March 24, 2012 at 4:56 pm #

    Yeah, don’t feel bad. I haven’t read the books either, although I do know what they’re about. Sometimes I have to choose between reading and writing and writing will always win :).

  3. Marilyn Campbell March 25, 2012 at 3:06 pm #

    Add me to the list. But I am anxious to see the movie!

  4. Nara Malone March 25, 2012 at 3:12 pm #

    I missed that series too. I tempted to give it a try. I love dystopian fiction and the dystopian RPG sims. I may have to play catch up and see the movie.

Leave a Reply

