Validating the writer within

22 Mar

It’s difficult for most authors I know to feel consistently good about their writing. We all seem to need a regular boost from editors, agents, and critique partners to keep self-doubt demons at bay.

Feedback from readers is especially important as well. A good review or a five-star rating on GoodReads goes a long way to improving my day.

Less often, but wonderful for its rarity and affirmation, is an industry nomination or award. We write to touch people. I, in particular, sweat bullets over the words I put on the page and wonder if the characters will touch you as they did me during the months I dream of them.

No ApologiesSo, as you can imagine, I kinda went over the moon when The Romance Reviews (TRR) contacted me last week to let me know my baby, No Apologies is a nominee for Best Contemporary GLBT Erotic Romance of 2011.

I’ve been putting on my vote-jogging shoes. Reaching out to friends and family for their support. I’ve had a few strange looks from those who don’t know about my book and its “no hate” message. Including a flat-out refusal to vote for a “gay” book from my father. It stung, but you know what? Ultimately what kept me going was the knowledge that wonderful, amazing, soulful people in my life–readers and friends alike–have supported this book from the get-go.

So thank you for putting No Apologies and my love for this book on the map, so to speak. IF you’d like to vote, either for me or another of your favorite authors and their works, voting is open here until March 30th.

Now, I’m off to dream of more places we can journey on the page. Together.

11 Responses to “Validating the writer within”

  1. Paul Weimer (@PrinceJvstin) March 22, 2012 at 6:28 am #

    Thank you for the inspiration, Tibby!

    • Tibby Armstrong March 22, 2012 at 3:12 pm #

      Thank you for always being there, Paul. Your support means a great deal to me.

      ~Tibby

  2. Kaily Hart March 22, 2012 at 8:15 am #

    Congrats on the nomination, Tibby! That’s awesome. And yeah, I think writers do have to have something inside them to push past the doubts, the criticism, the lack of understanding. You go!!

    • Tibby Armstrong March 22, 2012 at 3:11 pm #

      Thanks, Kaily! The ladies at PR are at the top of my list for the pom pom squad. 🙂

      ~Tibby

  3. Marilyn Campbell March 22, 2012 at 10:59 am #

    That’s wonderful Tibby! Congratulations! Heading over to vote for you now.

    • Tibby Armstrong March 22, 2012 at 3:10 pm #

      Thank you, Marilyn! It’s a first, so it makes it all the more special, ya know? 🙂

      ~Tibby

  4. Dan a. March 22, 2012 at 3:29 pm #

    I voted today!

    • Tibby Armstrong March 22, 2012 at 4:56 pm #

      THANK YOU!!!! And I *will* call soon. I’m out tonight, writing. Or trying to. This new book is being difficult.

      Hugs,
      Tibby

      • Dan A. March 22, 2012 at 11:36 pm #

        oh, i understand. I was hoping to catch you between books.
        OTOH, have you seen yourself online lately? You’re all over the freakin’ place!

  5. Nara Malone March 22, 2012 at 4:54 pm #

    I had already voted, but I’ve been out getting the vote out for you. Good luck, Tibby. You deserve this.

    • Tibby Armstrong March 22, 2012 at 4:57 pm #

      I know this is going to sound silly, but your comment brought tears to my eyes. I feel really special. Thank you thank you thank you.

      Tibby

Leave a Reply

