Physical Transformation Determination

21 Mar

Workout out? It sucks. I’ve never liked working out. I played sports in high school, but I still hated the conditioning aspect of practices. Never liked it. Dreaded it. We used to run up and down this hill, but we would have to do it 200 times. Or stairs, 400 flights.

(Is this the point where I mention that all those stairs and hills caused me to have knee surgery at 16? Yeah. I am hardcore against stairs. God gave us elevators for a reason, people.)

But now, as I realize that my twenties are slowly drawing to a close (I’m 28, if you were curious) I can’t rely on my charm alone. I need to be a more physically fit person, simply for health reasons. And also because I want to look good in a swimsuit.

I’m shallow, and also okay with it.

How do I intend to do this? Well you’re going to be privy to my first step: Visualization. I have found a motivational picture and I will be remembering this goal every time I am wanting to cheat, or quit, or just feeling like a slug and a lazy beast. What’s the goal? Here, I’ll share:

Fit, healthy, and not skinny. I think this is a decent goal. She’s not a waif-thin model who looks like she has breath mints for breakfast and ice cubes for lunch. So that’s where I’m going.

I know what you’re thinking. Great! KJ, you can totally do this! What a realistic, attainable goal! There’s no flaw in sight!

Oh, I have a flaw. See, I think the picture above is a nice goal to shoot for. The problem? I currently look like this:

Hey there, Sexy Pants

So…I’ve got some work to do. But I’m not giving up. It’s not just about the bikini (lie: it totally is) but it’s also about my health and doing the right things.

Being an adult is hard, y’all. I miss my metabolism at 17, where I could eat an entire bag of Doritos and not gain an ounce. Suck…

What’s your favorite weight loss or healthy lifestyle tip? I’m all ears!

KJ

6 Responses to “Physical Transformation Determination”

  1. Jennifer March 21, 2012 at 7:34 am #

    Have a diary handy with all you have eaten for the day, then the week. See if you cheated anywhere and for goal: fix those little mistakes. After filling in daily food habits you can see where you would need to change things. Puts them in perspective. For example when I had my baby i found myself snacking on his little foods. After I realized in my diary how much little snacking i did throughout the day, I caught myself and made life changing and reachable goals.

  2. mywithershins March 21, 2012 at 7:57 am #

    Sorry I can’t help you out. My metabolism is over 35 years older than yours and I’ve long-since given up wearing a bikini!

    However, when I was younger, after having had my second kid & couldn’t get my shape back, I tried the ‘Woman’s Advantage Diet’, that someone recommended to me. It’s based on your cycle and the types of foods you need during the different times. It requires keeping track of your cycle, which was difficult for me because I wasn’t regular, but it actually helped me lose 30 pounds and I managed to keep it off for at least a decade – until I no longer had a period. You must also realize that you need to keep up a regular exercise regimen – something I failed at, so have now gained back the 30+ pounds. If you can find the book, it might help – or you can contact me and I’ll mail you my copy. 🙂

  3. Marilyn Campbell March 21, 2012 at 11:58 am #

    Sex with a young, well-muscled hunk can prove to be quite inspirational – many such creatures can be found at the local gym. All you have to do is get up before dawn every day, go to the gym and work your ass off on every single machine in the place…proving you are worthy of the title gym rat and the attentions of the males of that club. It may not work immediately but give it 12 weeks & you’ll see I haven’t led you astray.

  4. Karla Doyle March 21, 2012 at 12:13 pm #

    I’m a gym rat. LOVE my hour of gym time every morning. I prefer my exercise time at the beginning of my day…I find it very energizing. If I left it until evening, I would never, ever go.

    I do 45 minutes of hard weight-training (one body part per day, for maximum focus & intensity) followed by 15 minutes of sweaty cardio (the eliptical is my beast of choice). My gym is co-ed and chock full of beefy goodness. Knowing I’m going to get to ogle buff guys (many of whom put me squarely in the cougar column) is very motivational!

    Good luck with your goal!

  5. Nara Malone March 21, 2012 at 12:18 pm #

    Running more than twenty miles a week does the trick. I like Marilyn’s method better, though.

  6. Kaily Hart March 21, 2012 at 10:17 pm #

    Good for you! You know, I think you have to make sure you’re not thinking about it as a “diet” or making drastic changes off the bat. Most people will never stick with an approach like that, not long term. And health and fitness isn’t a fad, or it shouldn’t be, it’s a lifestyle, a life improvement program. Start with something small. Cut portion sizes slightly. Drop some processed food, replace with something fresh. Go slow. Add to it over time. Don’t be obsessed with the scale. Go more on how you’re feeling about yourself. Celebrate the small accomplishments. You’re making a long term committment. Don’t think about it being a specific goal other than being more healthy, because we can all do better at that probably!

    And I like Marilyn’s method too LOL!

Leave a Reply

