A Guy, A Gal & A Pool Table

18 Mar

What’s so sexy about a pool table?

If you don’t know the answer to that, I strongly recommend you ask a man to teach you the game. It’s got a big stick, balls, holes and a rack, and there are times when you’ll be instructed to “just kiss it and it’ll go right in.” (That’s an exact quote.)

I have had a love affair with the game of pool since I was a teenager. An uncle of mine supported his family during the depression by hustling, so I figured it was in the genes. But I also discovered early on that boys didn’t care if you beat them at this particular game, as long as, at least once or twice, you climbed half on top of the table to make your shot (keeping one foot on the floor of course). So it was perfectly natural for me to include the game in one of my first published novels.

Like the other books in my backlist, before converting NO COMPETITION to ebook, it required a lot of updating and revising, but the game itself…much like the game of sex …hasn’t changed much at all.

 Blurb:

Joey was 12 when she first watched Casey rack ‘em up in  her parents’ billiard hall. Deep in puppy love, she taught him a trick shot that made him a champion. In return, he promised her a favor. Seventeen years pass before she demands payback, but in getting it, she discovers just how much the games of pool and love have in common.

Excerpt & buy link

Rack ’em up!

Marilyn Campbell

www.marilyncampbell.com; fb: AuthorMarilynCampbell; t: marilyncampbel3

6 Responses to “A Guy, A Gal & A Pool Table”

  1. Tibby Armstrong March 18, 2012 at 8:52 am #

    What a drop-dead sexy premise for a book, Marilyn! Where do you come up with these ideas? I love love love it!

    ~Tibby

  2. Marilyn Campbell March 18, 2012 at 10:05 am #

    Thanks Tibby. And about those ideas – well, once upon a time, in a much younger body, I… (I think I’ll just let you fill in the rest of that sentence)

  3. Nara Malone March 18, 2012 at 10:55 am #

    I bet you still have all those moves, Marilyn. Last time I saw you you had the rapt attention of several handsome young hunks. Where did I put that picture…

    And the story sounds luscious. I never knew pool talk was so sexy.

  4. Lauren Fraser March 18, 2012 at 7:25 pm #

    Love the premise for this book. It’s so true guys lurve to watch a woman play pool. My hubby and I played it on our first date. LOL

  5. shannonemmel March 18, 2012 at 9:28 pm #

    Sticks.
    Balls.
    Holes.
    Racks.

    Yep– looks like ya got everything ya need for a night of FUN!!!

    LOL Great post and I LOVED the book!

    –Shannon

Leave a Reply

