To-do lists

13 Mar

Who has them? I do. Who actually uses them? I don’t. *sigh* I have the horrible habit of writing lists and never following them. It’s almost like my mind says I’m done because I’ve written whatever the to-do is down. Take yesterday for example. I had the best plan. Get up early, clean/tidy the house, start writing at 9am until I hit my word count goal, then make dinner followed by reading time. And what did I actually do? Got up late, everyone late for school/work, cleaned up cat vomit, watered Mr.C’s chili plants, argued with 17yo, went to shop, argued with 17yo some more, tipped 1 kilo bag of uncooked rice all over floor….yeah, you get the idea. I barely managed to get 1,000 words written all day and most of those will have to go when I read back over it. 😦

Now you might think this is just one day and one list but noooooooooo……….this seems to happen every single time I write list. So here’s what I’m wondering, if I write clean cat vomit on a list will I not have to do it? If the past is anything to go by then I’d be inclined to think yes. But then knowing my luck it’d be cat poop I’d have to clean up instead. *sigh*

After my failed attempt at spending the day writing I decided to clear my desk in an attempt to clear my mind for the new day. Of course that’s when I found 50 billion other to-do lists that have been forgotten. I really am hopeless. My life, like my writing, is definitely of the pantser variety. So how about you? Are you a list writer or a pantser?

Rhian Cahill

www.rhiancahill.com

6 Responses to “To-do lists”

  1. mywithershins March 13, 2012 at 6:43 am #

    Definitely pantser! lol Your life sounds like mine! If you were to follow me around the house, you might see the logic in how things (might) get done or half done because I’ll be in the middle of something that reminds me to do something else, which reminds me to do something else, again… well you get the picture. If I actually complete ANYTHING (other than feed my family) during the course of the day, I’m doing well! 🙂

  2. Kaily Hart March 13, 2012 at 7:18 am #

    Oh, I’m a “lister” all the way! I lists for everything. Does is always get done? Of course not! But I always have something from the day before to carry over on today’s list. You know, as a starting point :).

  3. Marilyn Campbell March 13, 2012 at 7:50 am #

    I’m a chronic list maker – I actually get pleasure out of the scratching-items-off-the-List process to the point of adding something just to be able to scratch it off! On the flip side, offer me a chance to take off on an adventure and I’ve been known to be ready to go in 15 minutes and screw the lists.

  4. Madison J Edwards March 13, 2012 at 8:21 am #

    I laughed when I read your post.
    This seems to be the dilema of any mother/woman who writes, and has people who rely on her for everything.
    Why is it, when you’ve struggled for that elusive perfect phrase and it’s coalescing on the tip of your tongue, that your husband / daughter / son / cat / you name it, decides you MUST come see something – or help them with something?
    The bane of writers everywhere, I’m sure.
    Good luck – keep writing – maybe next time the 17yo can clean the cat mishap….

  5. Nara Malone March 13, 2012 at 9:03 am #

    Funny, Rhian. This sounds so much like my life.

    Making a scheduled list just feels like one big long list of rules to follow through a day and gets my inner rebel into tantrum mode ad tends to manifest as chaos. Sounds like that’s what happens to you.

  6. Lauren Fraser March 13, 2012 at 3:08 pm #

    Snicker, sounds familiar. I’m definitely a to-do-list kind of gal, that’s not to say I always do the things on the list but I still make ’em. Hopefully tomorrow will be better and you’ll cross a few things off the list.

Leave a Reply

