What makes a good heroine?

9 Mar

Since yesterday was International Women’s Day I thought it would be appropriate to blog about heroines. I don’t know about you but I love a great heroine. There’s just something about a great female character that really draws me into a book.

When I think about what I like and don’t like in a heroine a few things come to mind. I like writing and reading about strong women who can look after themselves. Women who don’t need a man to make them feel good about themselves because they are independent and confident in their own way, whatever that looks like. When I look at my female characters they all have a common thread, even when life has torn them down or thrown them for a loop, they still have the reserves within themselves to get back up.

I love real heroine’s who have real flaws, the kind of character I can relate to on some level.

I have to admit the one thing that comes to mind as something I really don’t like in a heroine is whining. I’m not talking about one scene where the character whines. I’m talking about the whole boo hoo, poor me, whining that lasts through an entire book, the I’m nothing without a man whining. I don’t know why it’s such a hot button for me but there’s something about that kind of  heroine that makes me want to throw my book. LOL

So what about you do you have certain things you love or hate in a heroine? What is the ideal heroine for you?

~Lauren

http://www.laurenfraser.com

9 Responses to “What makes a good heroine?”

  1. mahalia2010 March 9, 2012 at 7:49 am #

    I love heroines with flaws as well, not just physical ones but emotional ones. Life isn’t easy so I try to write heroines with issues that make them have to work to get where they want or revisit what their previous needs and goals were. Kind of like our choices define the type of life we lead…but we can constantly redefine who we are. I had no idea yesterday was International Women’s Day! I’ll mark it for next year!

    • Lauren Fraser March 9, 2012 at 1:55 pm #

      I agree, I love seeing growth in the character as you go through the story.

  2. Marilyn Campbell March 9, 2012 at 12:41 pm #

    I’m a Wonder Woman fan as much as a Nikita admirer. When I read I put myself in the body of the heroine so of course it’s sexy as well as fit. I love it when she can both outsmart AND outfight the bad guys … and turn her man into a pile of mush with one glance. Yeah, that’s what I like to pretend I am…

    • Lauren Fraser March 9, 2012 at 1:57 pm #

      *grin* nothing like a good kick-ass heroine and yeah she definitely needs to be sexy. LOL

  3. mywithershins March 9, 2012 at 1:39 pm #

    Whining leaves me cold unless she gets her comeuppance and turns over a new leaf. As well as strong, they need to show a softer side, some kind of flaw that they strive to overcome, thus showing their strength. I like to be able to say, in the end, yes I can relate to that girl.

    • Lauren Fraser March 9, 2012 at 1:58 pm #

      Me too, I like being able to relate at least on some level with the heroine.

  4. shannonemmel March 11, 2012 at 6:35 am #

    Flaws are good, unless, as you pointed out, that flaw a tendancy to WHINE!

    Also, I hate it when herioines seem to misplace their common sense as a critical moment…with the only reason being their own stubborness.

    He told you to stay put, but Noooooo! You couldn’t listen. You weren’t going to take orders from him or anyone else, so whadyado? You went specifically where you were told not to and nearly got youself and everyone else killed…

    Yep…THAT annoys me every time!

    Great post!

    –Shannon

  5. Jones sabo that is only part one of a two April 12, 2013 at 3:28 am #

    Somebody necessarily assist to make severely articles I might state. This is the first time I frequented your website page and up to now? I amazed with the analysis you made to make this particular publish extraordinary. Wonderful job

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Getting Real « The Write Inspiration - April 23, 2012

    […] What makes a good heroine? (passionatereads.com) […]

Leave a Reply

