Ready, set…taxes!

7 Mar

We’re doing taxes today. (What? What was that? Did I hear several groans in the audience?) Though I know NOTHING about taxes, I do know a thing or two about organizing. And this? This is right up my alley.

My husband is a little bit of a, um, well, I’ll be kind: he’s a slob. He has no clue how to file, no clue how to keep anything together, no clue how to organize a damn thing. God love his soul. So enters me.

I’ve got a file already for my 2012 taxes. (What, don’t you?) It’s where I keep a running tally of my writing receipts, where I stick a copy of all my pay information, where I keep anything and everything necessary throughout the year to take to the tax man.

Last year, we sat down with our new tax guy (hey, moving every 3 years, we always have a new guy) and shoved the folder at him. He took one look at it, then glanced at me, relief and gratitude shining in his eyes. “This is all separated out?” Yup. “It’s labeled?” With sticky notes. “The final totals are already calculated out?” Yes sir.

I think he wept a little as we walked out the door 15 minutes later. With a discount for how little time he required to do our taxes.

It’s good to be organized.

Have you done your taxes yet? Was it painful? Did you get it done with no problems? It’s still early…are you considering a file system for 2012 taxes to make it easier on you?

15 Responses to “Ready, set…taxes!”

  1. Jennifer March 7, 2012 at 7:06 am #

    Unfortunately, we just turned in our taxes to our tax lady. But I do a similar thing. I start a section for charitable receipts and such. Since I’m new to writing expenses, I’m still trying to figure out a system but luckily those items are sparse. Thanks

    • KJ Reed March 7, 2012 at 8:35 pm #

      Organizing before we get there is definitely easy. And it gets easier every year, at least I think so. Hubs insists I go overboard for nothing. But that’s okay.

  2. Kaily Hart March 7, 2012 at 9:11 am #

    Ah, taxes…the necessary evil. Funnily enough, my taxes have gotten simpler over the years and I’m ever thankful. When I had my own company…man, that took months and much caffeine to work through that. And I had an in-house accountant!! It’s still stressful, boring and…unfortunately won’t get done all by itself. Sigh… Would much rather be writing. Actually, I’d rather have my eyelids glued shut :).

    • KJ Reed March 7, 2012 at 8:37 pm #

      I know you…you can’t lie. your little organizational spreadsheet-loving heart probably has little mini parties when tax season rolls around. It’s just the sort of thing people like YOU love.

      Kidding. Sort of… LOL

  3. Sasha Devlin March 7, 2012 at 9:19 am #

    You are scary. Paper organization has never been my thing, but I’m going to start a new system this year because last year’s definite did not work!

    • KJ Reed March 7, 2012 at 8:38 pm #

      Leave it to me. You know my charts. Put yourself in my hands (in a completely platonic sort of way) and we’ll organize you out!

  4. naramalone March 7, 2012 at 10:24 am #

    I usually do my taxes on October 14th. For those who don’t live on the edge of chaos, I that’s the day before the extension runs out.

  5. Madison J Edwards March 7, 2012 at 1:33 pm #

    I hear ya, sistah.
    Hubby is retired air force, and we moved….. (carry the one, take of socks to count) …. twelve times in ten years. Holy cow! I’ve never thought back on how many times we moved. The worst was four moves in two years.
    I digress.
    These things teach you to be organized, and we also always had a ‘new’ guy.
    Last week I took all our receipts, bundled, stapled, labelled, and totalled into our accountant, and like you – I alread have a 2012 file started.
    First thing in it was receipts for the Lori Foster event in June.

    • KJ Reed March 7, 2012 at 8:39 pm #

      Wow, we definitely haven’t moved THAT much…yet. Give us time I’m sure. LOL And I wish the first thing going in my 2012 folder was a Lori Foster receipt. Not going this year. 😦 But hope you guys have fun!!!

  6. mywithershins March 7, 2012 at 4:13 pm #

    We are slightly more organized than we used to be. When we renovated our kitchen I made sure we had a file drawer under the counter where we used to throw all our receipts and other important papers. Now, they are divided in the file drawer so once we get all our forms from employers etc. we can get to work on our taxes. Er, correction, HUBBY will get started on our taxes. He’s the organized one, the math genius who works with numbers for a living. I only use numbers when there’s no way to avoid them! Words are my thing. Numbers make me feel dyslexic. πŸ™‚

    • KJ Reed March 7, 2012 at 8:40 pm #

      Hubs does the numbers thing for a living too…though more in a scientific capacity. He would probably cry if he had to do our taxes. It’s money well spent to just shove the information at someone else and say “Let us know when you’re done.” πŸ˜€

  7. Carolyn Boyles March 8, 2012 at 2:00 pm #

    I throw everything into an accordion file for the year. Then before I call the accountant, I organize everything into its appropriate file folder and print out labels for the folders with my trusty Dymo label printer. Then the accountant and I go through everything file by file. He says it saves me a lot of money by having me organize everything in advance. My taxes are too complicated not to be done by a professional.

  8. Lauren Fraser March 8, 2012 at 8:38 pm #

    Wow, I am not nearly as organized as you are. I had to root around through my piles of receipts, at least they were all in one basket. LOL But taxes are done and submitted. WAHOO!

  9. Marilyn Campbell March 9, 2012 at 12:47 pm #

    I’m with you KJ…but you should know “some” people think I’m afflicted with OCD…just sayin’… Here’s a toast to all the other uber-organized people out there!

  10. shannonemmel March 11, 2012 at 6:24 am #

    My accountant did them and had them ready to go the first week of February…

    Painfull?

    Not anymore!

    (LOL – That’s why the accountant does them!)

    –Shannon

Leave a Reply

