Visual Storytelling: Making of a book trailer.

1 Mar

Jolie_wal_photo copy

I had hoped to have my book trailer for Snatch Me done by today. I’m still finishing the last pieces of avatar art, but I thought I’d give you a sneak preview of what’s going into the trailer.

SntchMe_slide_3

At the start I decided I’d draw on what I learned about visual storytelling from video games and graphic novels. After all, a trailer is meant to get across the conflict of your story in a visual way. A story about a game and a girl who uses that game to escape her real world problems should be easiest to tell using a blend of graphic art and photography, right?

jail_sm

Creating the graphic art began with taking virtual photographs to work from. Getting avatars to hold still to have their picture taken, while getting the moon to just the right place in the sky, not so easy. Getting Jolie in a cell, easy. Figuring how to get her back out…took a little while. We were interrupted by guys interested in doing some capture role-playing, but they were all understanding about us being there to work rather than play. Hmm…does that make us working girls? πŸ˜‰

clench3a

But even with the technical difficulties putting us behind schedule, I’m expecting a happy ending. It is a romance, after all. πŸ™‚

In case you don’t want to wait for the trailer to find out what this story is all about, Snatch Me is available now from Ellora’s Cave, Amazon.com, and most e-book retailers.

Thanks to Hard Rust for letting me use Hard Alley in Second Life as a setting for my trailer.

5 Responses to “Visual Storytelling: Making of a book trailer.”

  1. shannonemmel March 1, 2012 at 1:52 pm #

    Dear GOD, Woman! When do you have time to write!?!!!
    LOL…looking forward to the book trailer!
    -Shannon

  2. Marilyn Campbell March 2, 2012 at 7:51 am #

    You are just soooo talented & creative! Love the trailer sneak peek!

  3. Lauren Fraser March 2, 2012 at 2:16 pm #

    Wow, I am in awe of how tech saavy you are, girl. Can’t wait to see the finished product.

  4. mywithershins March 4, 2012 at 9:44 am #

    LIke they said – awesome, jealous of your tech know-how and can’t wait to see how it turns out! You’ve got me thinking about doing one of my own, except I’ll probably need my son to do it for me. This sort of thing would be right up his alley! πŸ™‚

  5. Brandi Evans March 4, 2012 at 10:51 am #

    These are awesome, Nara. Some day I’m going to have to have you teach me how to do this. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

