I Declare it…Pretend Boyfriend Day!

29 Feb

So, I’ve had sick kids home for 3 days in a row! 3 days!! I’ve got edits due and book 2 in my new paranormal/urban fantasy series due at the end of March. That’s like…almost tomorrow. Do you realize how hard it is to write gripping, emotional, HOT sex to the sounds of Mickey Mouse Club House? Dora? OMG, Tinkerbell? That is just so wrong, on so many fronts LOL.

So while I haven’t been able to get into my story to the depth I’d like this week, I’ve still been using the time wisely. I’ve been searching for inspiration pictures for my many heroes under development. What!? That IS SO time spent wisely! I’ve found so many great images which has led to many plot bunnies developing for new stories. Not exactly what I intended, but it’s been great to outline some new ideas.

While I was doing this “research”, my mind has completely retreated to fantasy land. Oh-ho, right? But you know, when you look at a great picture, don’t you all imagine what he’d be like as a friend, lover, a partner, a for-real-boyfriend? Well, I do so I’ve declared today at Passionate Reads Pretend Boyfriend Day. If you could have anyone as YOUR boyfriend, who would it be? You can see mine below. You’re welcome :).

19 Responses to “I Declare it…Pretend Boyfriend Day!”

  1. mywithershins February 29, 2012 at 11:35 am #

    When I was attempting to write romances, I found one of those calendars with the beautiful bods, which was great inspiration for the love interests. You’ve chosen a pretty good one yourself! lol

    • Kaily Hart February 29, 2012 at 3:26 pm #

      Oh, yeah. I know the ones you mean. I might even had an old firefighter calendar around. You know, for sentimental value. Happy writing!

  2. TheOthers1 February 29, 2012 at 12:06 pm #

    Oooh, I want to lick him. At the moment, I want Tom Hardy to be my pretend boyfriend. He makes me hotttt. 🙂

    • Kaily Hart February 29, 2012 at 3:26 pm #

      Ooooh, I like your pretend boyfriend!

  3. hockeymadness February 29, 2012 at 2:27 pm #

    Mark Fayne – gotta luv hockey season!

    • Kaily Hart February 29, 2012 at 3:30 pm #

      LOL, I totally had to Google him, but yeah…okay…I can see that :). Love your pretend BF too!

      • mahalia2010 February 29, 2012 at 6:37 pm #

        He is totally delicious. I can imagine doing all kinds of naughty with him 😛 Great choice. You know when I saw your title I didn’t think you’d go with this.

        My friend read in Cosmo I think, recently indoor boyfriends or pretend boyfriends and how many women date men they’d never take out. So the pretend boyfriend is around Nov-March a cuddle buddy for movie nights and hot tub nights at his place never hers. and then the woman moves on. When I heard that I about died laughing and of course had to impliment it into a plot.

        Your pretend boyfriend is sooo much better!

  4. Marilyn Campbell February 29, 2012 at 7:05 pm #

    Pretend boyfriend eh? Only one? Oh, okay – Richard Castle, the character, or Steve McGarrett, the character, or Neal Caffrey the jewel thief, or Sealey Booth… Yes my fantasies often are tv spinoffs.

    • Kaily Hart March 1, 2012 at 8:32 am #

      LOL, Marilyn! Whatever floats your boat :).

  5. Desirée Lee February 29, 2012 at 8:05 pm #

    Yours is great eye candy! Whew!

    I’m probably giving away my age here, but my biggest teenage crush was on Jon Bon Jovi. I think he’s aged well and is still a handsome man, so I want Jon as my Pretend Boyfriend today!

    Carpe Noctem,
    Des

    Desirée Lee
    Putting the Romance back in Necromancy
    http://www.desireelee.com
    des@desireelee.com

    • Kaily Hart March 2, 2012 at 11:11 am #

      I agree! I do think he’s aged well and the fact that he was a rock star, but also seemed to be a dedicated family man? Hot as!

  6. Heather February 29, 2012 at 8:23 pm #

    I would so celebrate this day (sigh). And if I’m pertending then he is definitely going to be made up in my head so he comes out perfect lol.

    Oh and I feel ya, I don’t read anymore when my son is watching tv or I take him to the park with his friends, I ruins the whole scene 😉

    • Kaily Hart March 1, 2012 at 8:42 am #

      I prefer the 100% made up ones too. Notice mine didn’t have a head? 🙂

      • Heather March 2, 2012 at 12:02 pm #

        Lol, nice 😉

  7. shannonemmel February 29, 2012 at 8:56 pm #

    Áedan Conley, the male character from the story I’m working on right now! He’s 6’6″ of massive muscle, with BRIGHT blue eyes and waist length red-gold hair that reminds me of flames (literally) swirling behind him as he walks.

    He’s my pretend boyfirend until the story is finished…Gotta be faithful until we get to a “Happy Ending”?

    wink wink

    • Kaily Hart March 1, 2012 at 8:48 am #

      He sounds awesome! I’m always in love with my heroes. I think I have to be to do them justice. Until the next one, of course…

  8. Kaily Hart March 1, 2012 at 8:49 am #

    Mahalia, lots of plot fodder there!

  9. Lauren Fraser March 2, 2012 at 2:14 pm #

    Great post, Kaily. I hear you on not being able to get in that frame of mind when the kidlets are home. LOL

    So my fantasy boyfriend. Well I’ve got two. Oh come on you’re not suprised. *grin* I’ve gotta go with “The Rock” AKA Dwayne Johnson. *sigh* and then of course I’m a HUGE MMA fan so I have to have a crush there as well *grin* George St Pierre is definitely on my list for a totally swoon worthy guy. Mmm mmm mmm

  10. shannonemmel March 3, 2012 at 10:05 am #

    Reblogged this on shannonemmel.

Leave a Reply

