It’s Not Me, It’s You

25 Feb

My name is Sasha, and if necessary I will break up with your series. Though I want it to have all the noise and fireworks of a sporting event, it will turn out more like this:

Complete with that facial expression. That’s my mad face

When I was younger, the very thought of quitting a series gave me hives. I figured I would read Baby Sitter’s Club and The Box Car Children until the author died (I was sure I would out live her) and had read them all.  It never occurred to me that there would be deal breakers and I would have to walk.

Now I know my hot buttons:

If all the books are essentially the same, just with different h/h names.

If there’s a tortured character that I’m totally invested in, but the author just keeps throwing random books in that in no way further the series story arc.

If the story arc involves a BIG BAD and there is never any sort of ground gained by the good guys (I LIVE for comeuppance)

And if characters start acting out of character. This is the most disheartening. While I’m willing to put up with disappointing books or a twist that upsets me, a character who is suddenly polar opposite (with NO explanation) will make me jump ship faster than anything else.

I’m working on series/trilogy this year and I want to make sure people stick with me.  I don’t want the break up speech.

What makes you abandon a series, or will you read until the bitter end?

________________________________________________________

Sasha

Who promises not to break up with YOU. Yeah, I’m talking about you, foxy lady! If you want to hear more of Sasha’s ramblings, visit her at http://www.sashadevlin.com or follow her on Twitter @SashaDevlin

3 Responses to “It’s Not Me, It’s You”

  1. Marilyn Campbell February 26, 2012 at 7:57 am #

    Love that cat pic Sasha! You listed my pet peeves with series problems. And I think the same goes for movies. I want to see character growth from one book to another not a brain transplant. I want to read a different plot and challenge, not just name changes. I completely understand falling in love with a character and not wanting to leave him or her behing. But when the storyline gets stale… well, that’s when a great critique partner should leap into the fire and knock the author on the head.

  2. mywithershins February 27, 2012 at 1:19 pm #

    I will abandon a series if it takes too long for the next book to come out or if I don’t have time to read the next one. Then, I’ll forget to get back to it, especially if something new comes out. I’m kind of like the dog in ‘UP’ – squirrel! 🙂

  3. shannonemmel March 3, 2012 at 12:24 pm #

    First…OMG! That cat pic is purrrfection! LOL

    I broke up with a biggie – Anne Rice – and for some of the exact reasons you mentioned, the biggest of which was the main character, Lestat, becoming unrecognizable as a character in “Memnoch the Devil”.

    I hate to admit it, but I just absolutly could NOT finish the book! I might have been a fabulous book for all I know, but I was soooo distracted by the fact that Lestat just wasn’t acting like…well, like LESTAT, that I simply gave up!

    No disrespect to Ms. Rice, and I have all of the books in harcover ( Including a FIRST EDITION of “Interview”), but I had to break up with the series…snif sniff.

Leave a Reply

