Your “ideal” Hero

15 Feb

I know, I know. I blog about him a lot–the hero in romantic fiction. I think about him constantly and why not? I happen to think in these types of books it is all about him after all. Sure, readers have to relate and root for the heroine. She can’t be too weak, too whiny, too dependent, too…a lot of things. And she also can’t be too perfect. It’s a fine balance, but the reader has to find him attractive, think he‘s totally hot, believe he‘s absolutely right for the her and fall a little (or a lot in my case) with him. That’s kinda tough, you know, for a writer because everyone has different tastes.

I was having a conversation on Twitter recently and people were identifying celebrities, models, rock stars, actors they thought hot, hero material. Me? I couldn’t come up with a single one. LOL. Not. A. One. Well, not a real person anyway. I’m just not wired that way. I can appreciate aesthetics, but they’re not necessarily up to the level of “hero” in my eyes. Perhaps that’s why I create fictional ones because the only one that came to my mind was Christian, the hero in book 3 of my new series. God, I sigh every time I think about him.

Anyway, I digress :). Do you know who came close recently though? Dwayne ‘The Rock’ Johnson. Seriously! I’ve always thought him a little too muscled. Yeah, OK I’m seriously fussy, but you know what really won me over to him? It was another convo on Twitter where a bunch of writers were having some fun constructing a story line and identifying real life guys to play roles. One of them was The Rock and the plot was that the heroine could have him and another hero. Why choose? Then HE responded with – “I fight for and protect the woman I love – but I can’t share her. Ever. ” He was having some fun, but how freakin’ awesome is that? It’s that base sentiment that I strive to create in every single one of my stories and my heroes. Double sigh…

So…do you have an ideal hero? A guy who epitomizes what you think a hero should be? Who looks like what you envision a hero to look like?

6 Responses to “Your “ideal” Hero”

  1. mahalia2010 February 15, 2012 at 10:37 am #

    I have many sexy men in my head. But then there’s the ones who aren’t model attractive but gruff looking with good hearts, honor and traits that I can pull from any one of my ex’s to make the perfect man! ha. I like sport types myself. So I tend to go for tattooed, pierced, sexy eyed men with a variety of accents and diverse cultural backgrounds. It’s not just the look it’s their history and their upbringing that makes them who they are for me.

    • Kaily Hart February 16, 2012 at 7:41 am #

      I happen to think sexy, hot guys don’t have to look like a model. In fact, I prefer that they don’t :). I love a tough, rough around the edges guy with a core of integrity that’s unshakeable. Sigh…

      • mahalia2010 February 16, 2012 at 7:45 am #

        LOL! I’m sighing now too!

  2. mywithershins February 15, 2012 at 9:52 pm #

    When I was creating my love interest for my YA character in Withershins, I had Adam Beach in mind. Not only is he attractive, but anything I’ve read about him makes me think he also has an attractive personality. I recently read an article in a local paper that confirmed that impression, so I think I made a pretty good choice! 🙂

    • Kaily Hart February 16, 2012 at 7:43 am #

      The whole package, huh? That’s what gets the heart pumping, right?

Leave a Reply

