What to do when your Valentine is away

14 Feb

Honestly, for a romance writer my life is pretty UN-romantic. Why you ask? Well Mr.C is away on business. *sigh* No Valentine nookie for me. 😦 But let’s not dwell on that, let’s get back to my lack of romance. Even when Mr.C is in the country we don’t celebrate Valentines Day. It’s been that way pretty much the whole time we’ve been together. Oh sure we occasionally buy each other some little trinket or gift but we’ve never gone in for the whole wine’n’dine’n’pressie bit. And while I see the value in having a day like today to remind us to appreciate the one we love I’m not so sure I need it. After 24 years appreciate each other rather well. We might be in to all the hearts and flowers but we certainly manage to keep the love alive in other little ways. I don’t need to pressies or the flowers or the fancy dinners or the chocolates……oh wait, back up a step. Okay, I’ll take the chocolate. 🙂

The one and only time we did something big for Valentines Day was when I won a contest and we got to spend a night at a luxury hotel with a fancy 9 course dinner. It was a great evening worth well over a grand but to be honest I doubt that I would ever spend that much money on one night. It’s not that I’m cheap, I’d happily spend over a grand on romance books. 😆

So what do you think I’m going to be doing tonight? I’ll give you a clue. It involves words and pages. 🙂 What have you got planned for the one you love tonight?

Rhian Cahill

www.rhiancahill.com

4 Responses to “What to do when your Valentine is away”

  1. mywithershins February 14, 2012 at 7:28 am #

    Sorry you’ll be alone tonight. I’ve been where you are. Hubby was a high steel worker in his younger days and was often up north for the big Hydro Dam projects on Valentine’s Day, our first anniversary, etc. So, you see, I can relate. I can also relate to the no fuss V-Day, as we have been married almost 33 years. Tonight, I might make him his favourite meal, (if I happen to have any lasagna noodles in the house!) and we’ll relax watching our favourite DVRd shows from last night. If he brings home flowers, that will be nice. I might even make him a card. Other than that, our love will be shared like pretty much every other day of the year. 🙂

  2. Madison J Edwards February 14, 2012 at 11:51 am #

    My husband arrives home tonight after a four day trip out of country, so… maybe a little bit of naughty. Now Top Gun is NOT romantic in any way, shape, or form but the man has surprised me yet again. (hard to do after 30 years) He booked a two-night getaway in Niagara Falls. How sweet is that? Maybe he’s mellowing in his old age.

  3. Dawn February 14, 2012 at 12:52 pm #

    That sucks being without the hubs on Valentines, I know the feeling very well! I’m lucky to have hubs here with me this year and we are doing things simple this year we are staying in movies, junk food, fireplace and yummy dinner.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I’m blogging over at… - February 14, 2012

    […] Passionate Reads – http://passionatereads.com/2012/02/14/what-to-do-when-your-valentine-is-away/ […]

Leave a Reply

