Books to Movies – Who Fits Your Role?

7 Feb

Hello, Crystal here, taking a break from my regular Ode to Hotties by talking instead about …women.

A couple of weeks ago we had the very talented Janet Evanovich as a guest at Passionate Reads, and just recently the movie version of her book One For the Money was released in theaters. With that much anticipated premiere came a lot of chatter about the choices for the roles. After all, many of us have read the entire series—16 books plus a few ‘between the numbers’!—and have long envisioned those characters in our heads.

I haven’t seen the movie (…yet…my husband promised to take me) but in my opinion, Katherine Heigl more than fits my expectations of Stephanie Plum’s character. In fact, when I first heard about the movie option I couldn’t think of an actress to fit the role, so I was anxious to find out who ultimately got it. I love Katherine Heigl, I think she’s beautiful and a great actress.

I’m reserving my judgment of Jason O’Mara and Daniel Sunjata until I’ve seen the movie. However, Debbie Reynolds…I’m sorry, she just doesn’t fit my impression of Grandma Mazur. I was thinking more along the lines of Estelle Getty.

Now it’s your turn to chime in about actresses in roles. Any role! Have you ever read a book where you say “so-in-so actress would be perfect to play this character”? I want to hear from readers as well as writers, because I know when most authors write we envision our characters as real people and a lot of us are seeing actors. What about a movie where the characters didn’t fit your impression of the book? Let’s hear it!

Leave a Reply

