Hot Jocks, Lettermen and Chipmunks

15 Jan

Today is a writing day, starting with this blog! (Hot Jocks included!)

After that it’s “nose to the grindstone” to make up time for getting wined and dined, doctored, cleaning house and getting “Chipwrecked” with my grandson, instead of writing.

Oh— and of course, we can’t forget the day job which ended the two week gap since my last blog with a sold out performance by “The Lettermen” and I have to say, they were amazing!

 

 

 

 

The beautiful voices of the singing trio, The Lettermen, first hit the music charts in 1961 with “The Way You Look Tonight” and subsequent albums gave us memorable hits like “Theme From A Summer Place”, “Up, Up and Away”, “Hurt So Bad”, “Cherish / Precious And Few”, “Put Your Head On My Shoulder,” and their most requested hit, “Goin’ Out Of My Head / Can’t Take My Eyes Off You”.

Now as far as The Lettermen go, they started their career the year I was born, so they weren’t part of my high school memories, but Lettermen jackets and “School Letters” were. You always saw the girls wearing their boyfriend’s Lettermen jackets or sweaters as a status symbol. (“Hey! I’m with HIM!…can’t you just die?!!!”)

My ex-husband may have been the “King of the Jocks”, but I earned my own letters in high school, thank you very much!

 Yes, we gals could earn our own letters but somehow that never came across as “cool”.  I think I’ll blame “Grease” for that, though I DID love it when the tables turned and “Sandy” showed up in leather and “Danny” is the boy next door in his Rydell lettermen sweater.

Gotta love a gal in leather…but then again that’s ONLY if you’re VERY good and she decides you deserve a reward! 🙂

Did ya ever wonder how long it took Sandy to fall from grace after her introduction to leather and the dark side?

Ever wonder if Danny respected her in the morning?

What about the rumors?

Were they just rumors or did she and Danny really get down and dirty?

Did her reputation take a nose dive and if so…did she REALLY give a shit?

 Ahhhh…The joys of high school!

Parents try to tell us that high school is the best time of our lives but I tend to disagree primarily for two reasons:

  1. Hormones are running rampant.
  2. It tends to be very “Click-ish”, with the “popular” people (in various flavors) versus the “losers” (also in various flavors).

When you mix the two, it can be a recipe for disaster. LOL

Add to that the pressure to get into college, a dysfunctional home life, sex, drugs violence and a myriad of other things—

You get the picture.

I know things have changed, the clicks are more like gangs and the quality of public education took as big a nose dive as Sandy’s rep, but let’s face it. Growing up is tough, no matter WHEN you went to high school.

For me…high school was a necessary evil. I took the good with a LOT of unpleasantness.

I had some great teachers, lived in a nice quiet community and I was an “A” student, Varsity cheerleader and in the band. There was Pep Club, Botanical Club, French & Spanish Clubs & Who’s Who Among High School Students. For extracurricular activities, I had piano & dance lessons, Theta Ro, horseback riding, and believe it or not, motorcycles! (Yes…bit of a “tomboy” to boot, so most of my friends were guys and THAT is probably where the trouble started! J )

I refused to belong to ANY click and since I based my friendships on people and their interests and NOT where they lived or how they dressed, I had friends from all over.  

In a nutshell, I mostly just did my own thing and that bothered a lot of people. It wasn’t intentional, it’s just my personality. I was the nice girl who no one could quite figure out, so they just made up crap to “fill in the gaps.”

(Of course, it could have just been out of spite, kids can be really mean that way.)

Consequently, I was a “Sandy” with a “Rizzo” reputation and a dash of unusual that bordered on paranormal.

LOL…go figure!

 In retrospect, I have a feeling that a lot of creative people fall into that category. We see things differently than most, even at a young age, and catch a major amount of grief for it at some point in our lives.

Admittedly, we ARE a bit different. That’s why we can do what we do. We don’t think in one, two or even three dimensions when we write. We go to other places to meet our characters and write our stories.

I for one, had no clue! I honestly thought I was like everyone else and everyone had the ability to see things the way I do.

I think that’s one of the reasons I write. Through words, we can share what we see, and give others a glimpse into a different world, a different reality.

I’m curious…how many of you out there knew, even in high school, that you weren’t quite like everyone else?

Let me know!

 I have some more writing to do…right after I drive to the beach for lunch!

 Life is good!

Shannon

 Shannon Emmel

writetome@shannonemmel.com

 

One Response to “Hot Jocks, Lettermen and Chipmunks”

  1. Eileen Gormley January 15, 2012 at 1:04 pm #

    Oh yeah, high school went badly for me the day I arrived at my boarding school, and got asked “What music do you like?”

    My mind went blank, and I said the first thing that popped into my head. “Rolf Harris.” My mother had tortured my sister and me into singing “Two Little Boys” as a duet for relatives, so it was the only thing I could think of.

    That was the start of my reputation as a freak. After that, anything I did (reading, writing, studying, liking boys) only added to it. In the end, I was glad to be expelled.

    Eileen

Leave a Reply

