Welcome to 2012!

1 Jan

I hate New Year’s Resolutions for two reasons and that’s why I don’t make them:

1) It seems that they are all forgotten by Ground Hog Day! (That would be February 2nd for anyone outside of the US ūüėČ )

2) They always seem to be about changing something you don’t like about yourself, (losing weight/going on a diet),¬† or forcing yourself to do something that you REALLY don’t like or enjoy because you think you should or need to, (going to the gym, running/walking 5 miles a day).

WHY IS THAT?

I understand wanting to start off on the right foot for the new year, but why torture yourself? How does making yourself miserable equate to starting the year “right”?

Hmmm? Yeah…that really doesn’t work for me.

I thought about it before I sat down to write this blog and decided, “Why not take the opportunity to resolve to do things that make you happy and that you really enjoy?”

Seems that would almost guarantee that the success rate for keeping your resolutions will be longer that the shelf life of a carton of milk.

So! Here are MY New Year’s Resoulutions for 2012

Go to the Beach,

        Have a Drink,

                Eat What I Want,

                        Read a Book,

                                Write!

I bet that right about now, you’re thinking, “Hey! I want HER list!”

By ALL means! I encourage everyone to make a list like this for yourselves!

BUT! Before you do…Here’s how it breaks down.

1) Go to the beach. At least once each week. Regardless of the weather or how busy I am.

I LOVE the beach. Spending an hour or so just sitting there listening to the waves and the birds is like spending a week at a spa for me. It doesn’t have to be sunny, or even daytime,¬† it’s just BEING there that brings me peace.

I live 10 minutes away from it and from December to April I’m lucky if I make it there once a month!¬† Why? Becasue I DO live only 10 minutes away!

As much as I love, love, LOVE the beach, because it’s so close, I take it for granted and figure, “It’ll be there tomorrow”. So, I let other things get in the way of what I like and need. Granted, those things tend to be a demanding “Day job” and¬† family issues, but in the giant scheme of things, I’m more productive and less stressed when my head is “in the right place”.

The beach is what does it for me.

2) Drink. A glass of wine or an icy cold beer at least once a week…whether I need it or NOT!

I don’t drink much, obviously, but I do like a glass of red wine ocasionally, or a cold beer, especially with chicken wings. I got away from it because¬†the ¬†constant threat of migraines¬† was always dangling over my head and it just wans’t worth it!

My sinus surgery seems to have aleviated the migraine issue, (mostly) so…why not? There are medical benefits to having an occasional glass of red wine or beer, and since I enjoy both, they made my 2012 list.

3) Eat what I want. I pretty much do that anyway, LOL, but…

Yes, there’s always a “but” or in this case, a butt and to keep mine from spreading across the state, I need to get back to more of what I want and REALLY like!

I am and always have been a “high protien/low carb” gal by nature. Give me a good cut of lean meat, seafood or poultry and a tossed salad with some Mozzarella cheese and I’m a happy camper!

I don’t LIKE fast food or junk food in general, but find myself eating it anyway.¬† Why? because I let myself get so “busy” with work and other things that I don’t take the time to fix what I really like. I grab a sandwich or a snack bar or anything else that’s available, rather than take a break and eat what I’d really like.

4) Read a Book. At least 2 per month. (And editing my own books does NOT count!)

Not much explaination needed there.¬† I LOVE to read. That’s more or less how I became interested in writing. It stimulates my imagination, takes me from the mundane into the esoteric and that is where creativity flourishes.¬† Gotta feed the Muses!

5) WRITE!  At LEAST 1000 words per day of what I want to write and that is NOT day job work related!

This is the toughest item on my list my listand not the “1000 words per day” part. I spend a HUGE amount of time on my computer at my day job. I come in every morning and it a takes anywhere from 2 to 4 HOURS just to open and reply to my emails.

Then I start on the various “projects” and “lists” that I have going, all of which involve working on the conupter…and most of which require require little to no “creative” effort and an enormous amount of logic and critical thinking.

By the time I’m done for the day, I am “crispy fried”!

So what do I do at that point?

How about take a drive to the beach, then

        go home and have a nice glass of wine and

¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬† toss a salad¬† while I’m waiting for¬† dinner to come off the broiler.

                             Follow it with a few chapters of a good book and for dessert,

Slip into the pure indulgence of creating the world where the charaters in my head, and their stories, to come to life.

That’s what I’m doing for 2012…How ’bout YOU?

-Shannon

3 Responses to “Welcome to 2012!”

  1. Dr.subhendu kar January 1, 2012 at 1:25 pm #

    HAPPY NEW YEAR

    Light of love, joy and peace reel through heart
    yet radiance beacons soul to enlighten path
    journey to rejoice rungs of color by the walk
    as mortality sips inebriation to redeem.

    Heart respires to glow when deep in red
    as love of friend resolutes to resonate
    by a rave to sip the muse of awe divine
    yet endearing soul with bliss engrossing.

    blue seems to sprinkle by words of joy
    god of own serenades onto the eternity
    mirth within yet sates like dew over dawn
    I do remember grace of yours unequaled.

    do we ever know as wishes long to belong?
    entirety as when made of mortality sanguine
    friendship preens like beams promise to brighten
    as green verdure knows rungs of light on unison.

    earth knows myth of blessings by rise of sun
    as newness refreshes by wresting sorrows
    known from rucks of crowd sways to recall
    as symphony redounds to toll rusky rune over rust.

  2. Marilyn Campbell January 1, 2012 at 3:00 pm #

    This year’s list is short – DO SOMETHING NEW THAT MAKES ME HAPPY.

  3. gaildeyoung1 January 1, 2012 at 7:35 pm #

    Shannon, great post. I agree…doing something you LIKE in 2012 is definitely on my “to do” list. We must get to the beach more often this year. Though I can’t drink with you, I’ll be happy to watch you drink the wine. Reading books always makes me happy — I’m waiting to read YOURS! May your new year be filled with my love and happiness, my friend!

Leave a Reply

