Post-Holiday Fuzz Brain

28 Dec

I haz it. Between traveling (five hour trip to my in-laws by car…then turning around and doing it again to come home) and spending time not in my own bed (which always throws me off) and our first year playing Santa Claus to the kiddo…three days after Christmas and I’m a Fuzz Brain.

You know the feeling. When you’re moving at half-speed, though you aren’t trying to. When your husband has to repeat his question six times before you can answer, “Yes, I’d like some coffee, thanks” because your brain simply isn’t registering the words. When your kid asks you to read them a story, and you stare at the pile of toys and books they came home with and go “Uh…which one?”

That.

So now I’m attempting to exercise the Fuzz from my Brain. Not literally. What do I look like, Jane Fonda? Pah. But it’s time to get back in the routine of things. Time to work for a number of hours. Wake up at the right time. Go get groceries for the love of God. Do a load or seven of laundry.

Time to be a groan up. (No. That wasn’t a typo.)

Anyone else dealing with the Post-Holiday Fuzz Brain?

KJ

6 Responses to “Post-Holiday Fuzz Brain”

  1. Wendy December 28, 2011 at 9:55 am #

    This gave me a good chuckle and a diagnosis for the way I have been acting or should I say- not acting. I have to get it together though and fast. Round two starts Friday with the other side of the family and it’s at my house…Thanks for the laugh this morning. It really is food for the soul. 🙂

    • KJ Reed December 29, 2011 at 8:51 am #

      I’m glad you got a laugh from the post. 🙂 I know what you mean about the quick holiday turn around though. Luckily for us, we’re doing NOTHING (and happily) for New Years. But for others, it seems like they just barely get to shake off one Fuzz before another one hits!

  2. Kaily Hart December 28, 2011 at 2:37 pm #

    Ah, so that’s what it is. Glad it has a name. If you figure it out, let me know!

    • KJ Reed December 29, 2011 at 8:51 am #

      Still working on a cure. Isn’t this what NASA should be concentrating on? Or are they all too distracted by teh astronaughties…

  3. Katie O'Connor December 29, 2011 at 8:47 am #

    Fortunately for me, I’ve managed to find a cure for my Holiday Fuzz Brain. I kicked everyone out of the house, shut off the phones (including my cell) and had a four hour nap. It was great! I’m all reved up now. Good luck kicking the fuzz out!

    • KJ Reed December 29, 2011 at 8:52 am #

      I’m jealous! Maybe on Monday, when Tot goes back to school, I’ll have the chance for a nice, rejuvenating nap. A gal can dream, right? 🙂 Thanks for the idea!

Leave a Reply

