I need suggestions! NOW! Please?

7 Dec

If you haven’t noticed yet (and how could you not) it IS that time of year. The time of year where absolute panic sets in for those of us who have people in our lives who are just totally impossible to buy for! For me, that would be my dad, my husband & my son. I’ve come to the conclusion that being ‘difficult to buy for’ is both a genetic and gender affliction. It obviously runs in families and it’s prevalent in MY family big time! My girls are easy. They’re easy-going and have a range of different interests plus there are just so many safe options for girls, anyway. But guys? Not so much. Guys tend to buy what they need for themselves, at least mine do. And often just before the holidays requiring a mad dash back to the stores to return or exchange something when I thought I’d finally, FINALLY found something he wanted! Yes, that’s happened more than once. Who does that around the holidays? My guys also have a wake of hobbies they’ve tried and abandoned over the years, along with all the associated gear that came with them. Yep. Prior gifts not longer in use.  My guys  are just very…particular. And this year? None of them, not a one, will suggest something they might like! My husband looks at me like ‘if I really wanted it I would have bought it already’. Yeah…

SO, I need some help. And fast LOL! Does anyone have any suggestions for an older guy who travels around Australia in an RV for the majority of the year, for a husband who doesn’t have any specific hobbies right now & won’t admit to needing/wanting anything and for a 12-year-old boy who’s not into sports, loves his computer and despite his age, is almost now fully in the ‘difficult to buy for’ category in his own right? HELP. ME. NOW.

11 Responses to “I need suggestions! NOW! Please?”

  1. Maria December 7, 2011 at 9:36 am #

    Create an “experiential” gift for the guys in your life. Buy them tickets to a concert, event or destination related to their interests. You can also gift them with lessons or individualized instruction. It depends on where you live. I’m in Florida, so lots of options here: surfing lessons, a kayak outing, cooking lessons & dinner at an upscale restaurant, race car driving, parachuting, flying lessons, a day at a theme park. You can also plan a special event – something as basic as dinner and a movie or a weekend at the bed and breakfast where you honeymooned. A getaway to their favorite sports’ hall of fame. Be creative and have fun!

  2. Tawny Taylor December 7, 2011 at 9:52 am #

    I feel your pain! I have had many more misses when it comes to gifts for the hubby than hits. This year (like every year before) he gave me absolutely NO IDEAS. But here are some of my more successful attempts:

    My hubby’s a couch potato when he isn’t working, so this year he’s getting a set of TV trays and infrared headphones for the TV (the headphones are actually more a gift for me–no more blaring TV!). In years past, I’ve bought him wallets every other year (his look like they’ve been tossed out onto I-75 during morning rush hour after a year of use), belts, (same thing–they only last a year or two). One year I bought him a satellite radio–that would be a fab gift for your RVing “older guy”, but he may have that already. Maybe you can pay for a year’s subscription to his satellite service if he has the radio? Subscriptions to fave magazines, subscription websites or TV sports packages are also very popular.

    Some suggestions for the 12 year old (who sounds a lot like mine):
    The ultimate game gift card (If he plays games online, he’ll know what it’s for)
    An ebook reader (my kid received his Pandigital Novel last year and he loves it)
    Hoodies (a kid can never have too many)
    Games for Wii/Playstation/Nintendo/whatever game system he has
    Legos (yes, my almost 13 year old asked for these this year…and Harry Potter, too)
    Collectibles/t-shirts/etc with logos from fave books/movies/musician (mine wears his Hunger Games t-shirt everywhere)
    Webcam and/or digital camera

    Hope my ideas help!

  3. JenniA December 7, 2011 at 9:56 am #

    I feel your pain. My hubs and his dad fall under that category and while they say they “love” everything I get, I feel like I stress more about them than anybody else. My kids are 10 and under and I can never go wrong with video games. We have a Wii and I got the Spyro game attachment. My hubs, thankfully, loves European soccer so I was able to find something there. My father-in is tough: retired, wealthy with a lot of time on his hands and purchases anything he wants. He has 2 homes so I’m always able to find an outdoor item: umbrella, statues… Have you thought about an ereader or tablet. I mean if he travels, he might have some down time and maybe he can take pictures of his journey and post it and share with family…

  4. shannonemmel December 7, 2011 at 10:03 am #

    Dad- Crocodile dundee style hat and or big knife. RV accessories like personalized folding chairs with his name on them ( guessing he parks the RV at some point?)

    Husband- weekend getaway for the two of u ( u may as well get somthing out of the deal too!

    Son? Yikes! Guitar hero? Dsi with games? iPad? On line gaming time?

  5. Kaily Hart December 7, 2011 at 10:27 am #

    Awesome!!! Keep the ideas coming! Some of those listed I’ve done in prior years but it’s jogging the brain cells :).

  6. acm05 December 7, 2011 at 11:13 am #

    I’m not a big fan of gift cards, but for your traveler, a gas gift card would come in handy and/or a gift card to a inexpensive store (we have Wal-Marts here) which has almost anything at a reasonable price and are in almost any town. When I do give gift cards, I also include a small box of candy or a book. Something for immediate pleasure and the gift card for later.

    If your community offers evening/weekend classes, you might want to sign someone up. We signed my dad up for several ethnic cooking classes and he loved them. (He did show some prior interest.) You don’t want this to be torture, but your son might need some exposure to other activities than computers and these types of classes might expose him to something he didn’t even know would interest him.

    If your husband and son can truly give you no suggestions, offer to donate to a charity in his name and ask him to pick one. Perhaps they would benefit from actually picking out toys to give to needy children.

  7. acm05 December 7, 2011 at 11:14 am #

    Or would that be petrol gift card in Australia?

  8. KJ Reed December 7, 2011 at 11:23 am #

    I feel your pain as well. My daughter, so easy. Granted she’s 2, so I’m still picking out everything she owns. LOL But for my sister, she’s another story. I finally decided on … *looks around to see if she’s watching* I’m getting her some t-shirts and other apparel from the university closest to us (a big, well known one). She works out a lot so interesting and new stuff to wear to the gym is always welcome. Anything like that maybe from your husband’s favorite pro team, or college?

  9. Marilyn Campbell December 7, 2011 at 2:44 pm #

    I am jumping in here only to say how great all the ideas have been so far! Personally I love the lesson or adventure ticket. I’ve done both the Richard Petty’s Driving Course and skydiving experience and, tho it’s not for everyone, maybe one of them would enjoy it. And if you go that way, be sure to purchase the video for them to replay for all their friends.

  10. Marie December 8, 2011 at 4:14 am #

    Binoculars: Men love them 8 x 40 waterproof Bushnell,or Nikon.
    or
    a flinty thingo fire starter; should be able to buy one from a RV place or barbeque place. Sorry I can’t think of the proper name for it, but you strike the flint and it throws a spark. Perfect for your personal cave man/camper

    Digital camera is a good suggestion for your son. He can learn to manipulate the images on his computer plus might develop another interest in walking outside

  11. nara malone December 8, 2011 at 5:51 am #

    I watch what the guys in my family give each other:

    Tools, paintball guns, tool belts, subscriptions to car magazines, fancy pocket knives,stuff with camouflage on it, pellet guns, tool boxes, machetes, auto detailing kits, bb guns, gift cards to stores that sell tools.

Leave a Reply

