Medieval Romance

29 Nov

I’m in the mood for a good medieval romance–something with blood and sweat and raunch. Something with castles and knights and bare-chested warriors fighting it out half naked.

There don’t seem to be too many medieval romances around anymore, erotic or otherwise. But I’ve always liked them, probably because the heroes tend to be alpha take-no-prisoners males. Medieval heroes are hard core. They’re out there swinging long swords and bashing in the heads of enemies. And they’re protecting people. Women people. Children people. Kittens.

Okay, maybe not. But medieval heroes appeal to me on some really primitive level. In a lot of contemporaries, the heroine gets saved by the hero, but he’s usually not literally saving her life. Usually just her sanity, or her self-esteem–something nice and modern.

Medieval heroes save your life. Like, someone bad was about to kill you or kidnap you or do something awful to your virginity and Medieval Alpha Male strode in and kicked ass. Maybe I’m shallow, but I like the fantasy of being saved.

Generally I’m totally into London ballrooms and alien sex (not usually together, though I think Meljean Brook could pull it off). But every once in a while, I want less talk and more action. Something that will take me away from email and car repairs and drop me–hard–into another world.

After about 300 pages, I’m generally ready to come home. Getting hot and bothered is so much more enjoyable when there’s a shower in the near future. But for now, I’m going to continue the weekend fantasy that started out with eggnog and pecan pie and get me some medieval sword-wielding ass-kicking warrior male. (I’m currently a fan of Kris Kennedy’s medievals. She doesn’t write erotic romance but her books are really, really good IMHO.)

So, any medieval fans out there?

5 Responses to “Medieval Romance”

  1. Madison J Edwards November 29, 2011 at 6:51 am #

    I only just discovered Kris Kennedy this past week (already read her three book series). How could I not know about her – and yes – her heroes are HUGE alpha male… yum.
    What was I saying, I kind of drifted there for a moment. Oh yes. Not to erotic, although there are scenes that are, tssssssss, hawt.
    I’m a huge fan of Karen Marie Moning Highlander series. Many large testosterone laden Scottish lairds, who are driven to distraction by fiesty, intelligent virginal misses. Yup – love me Karen Marie Moning.
    Thanks for this post. You made my morning a little brighter.

  2. Marilyn Campbell November 29, 2011 at 8:30 am #

    Great post Erica. Thanks for the morning smile!

  3. MichelleKCanada (@AnotherLookBook) November 29, 2011 at 9:43 am #

    I love Julie Garwood books for my medieval fix. I think Ransom is one of my all time favorite books.

  4. Lisa Collins November 29, 2011 at 11:51 am #

    Here is a good one that is free on Amazon kindle right now: http://www.amazon.com/Spoil-War-Arthurian-Saga-ebook/dp/B004UH7Z7U/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1322589042&sr=8-1

  5. Erica Anderson November 29, 2011 at 12:54 pm #

    Thanks for the recommendations! Madison–which Karen Marie Moning would you recommend starting with?

    I just started reading an older Kathleen Givens medieval On a Highland Shore. It has a half-Norse hero. Oh yeah!

Leave a Reply

