Guest Blogger: Kate Willoughby

25 Nov

Joining us on Passionate Reads today is Kate Willoughby. *insert applause* Kate’s latest Ellora’s Cave release Just Winging It hits digital storefronts today. Her hero, Lazlo, sounds positively dreamy. Oh, and she’s giving stuff away too!

Without further ado, let’s all give her a big PR welcome…

~Brandi Evans

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

The Best Job in the World
by Kate Willoughby

I’ve often thought it would be terrific to give complete strangers a bunch of cool stuff the way Oprah, Rachael Ray, and Ellen do on their TV shows.

In my newest release, Just Winging It, Davina had a great job like that. She was a wish fairy. Her mission was to grant the wishes of humans who yearned for True Love.

Okay, sometimes she flubbed stuff up and caused trouble for the wishful heroines, but Davina has a heart of gold, and at the risk of spoiling it for you, everything always worked out in the end.

If I could grant a wish to someone, I would give my mother a bunch of money, however much I could. She’s a “save it for a rainy day” type person, and that rainy day never comes, so she always seems to go without. It would be fun to arrange for her to “win the lottery” or the Publishers Clearing House sweepstakes, and see what she’d do with all that moola. (That way she wouldn’t feel like she owed me.)

I really wonder if she would spend any of it at all. More likely, she’d save most of it so she could pass it on to her kids when she died. Still, if it was a large enough amount, she might actually deign to fix up her house and get one of those Brussels Griffon dogs she likes.

What about you? Who would you give a wish to? What would it be? Answer in the comment section and you are entered to win the entire Be-Wished series—All In, A Wolf at Her Door, Once Upon A Kiss, and Just Winging It. The winner of the four e-books will be announced on my blog on Friday, December 16, 2011.

15 Responses to “Guest Blogger: Kate Willoughby”

  1. Sasha Devlin November 25, 2011 at 8:17 am #

    I’d use my wish to get my niece (age 7) a time machine. There are several family members we lost before she was born or when she was super young, that I’d love for her to meet.

    • Brandi Evans November 26, 2011 at 1:00 pm #

      That is such a wonderful wish, Sasha! Also, its a fabulous plot for a YA novel! 😉

  2. desiree (@desitheblonde) November 25, 2011 at 9:54 am #

    well i am giving my bf his wish he is going to leave here on the 21 and not be here for xmas he is going to go see his adult kid s he thought they died and then he goign to see
    his x god now why but he got 2 grandson he never seen so he will be spending the holiday with them me i am staying home and will be reading and blogging

  3. Kate Willoughby November 25, 2011 at 5:10 pm #

    Oh, Sasha, that’s so cool. What a great idea. I want to borrow that machine myself and meet my grandfather on my mom’s side. He had died before I was born.

  4. Kate Willoughby November 25, 2011 at 5:11 pm #

    Aww, Desiree, I’m sorry you won’t be with your boyfriend for Christmas. Maybe you’ll win the books and you’ll have something fun to read, at least. 🙂

  5. Joanne B. November 25, 2011 at 7:29 pm #

    I would give a wish to my sister. She has MS and has trouble with her hands,feet and the heat. She would love to do more stuff with her kids, but she can’t walk that far or she gets overheated.

    • Brandi Evans November 26, 2011 at 1:06 pm #

      Another great wish!

    • Kate Willoughby November 26, 2011 at 4:59 pm #

      Wow. That’s admirable. It must be really hard to be a mom with MS…not that it’s easy for anyone else, but moms will feel guilty about not being able to do more when it’s not their fault. Someday I hope they find a cure.

  6. Cathy M November 26, 2011 at 10:14 am #

    Fun idea about the lottery, Kate. If I wished for that or the PCH moola, I would love to get my kids out from their college loan debts. Take away all that extra burden, and let them put the money towards their first house, maybe a dream vacation, then a bit towards their future (hopefully) kidlets.

    caity_mack at yahoo dot com

    • Kate Willoughby November 26, 2011 at 4:56 pm #

      Jen, I actually have people in my family who are half-full people and I admire them so much. I am a middle of the road person. A lot of the time I’m half-full, but sometimes I’m half-empty. That quality would sure boost a person’s happiness and it’s a great idea. I think I’m going to try to incorporate that trait into one of my Woman’s World stories. Thanks! And good luck to you with the contest.

  7. Jen B. November 26, 2011 at 10:32 am #

    I always tell my family that I wish we could win the lottery. I would love to let my husband stop working. It’s complicated though because I have promised my siblings I would share with them and only them. That means the spouses don’t get any of the money. You can see how that might make for hard feelings! Maybe I should wish for everyone in my family to always be a glass is half full sort of person…

  8. Nena Clements November 26, 2011 at 3:48 pm #

    I would wish success for a couple of friends who really deserve it. Who wouldn’t want to win the lottery and pay all bills?

    Can’t wait to read about Davina, Kate.

    • Kate Willoughby November 26, 2011 at 4:58 pm #

      Thanks, Nena! I wonder if all those lottery winners “deserve” it? It’s too bad that sometimes jerks get it. I always like it when groups of people win it.

  9. Kate Willoughby November 26, 2011 at 4:52 pm #

    Hey, Cathy, I feel your pain. My kids are about to finish high school and may have to get some loans. I feel guilty about that. The lottery would make it so much easier! Money can’t buy happiness, but it sure helps! LOL

  10. Kate Willoughby November 26, 2011 at 5:00 pm #

    Sorry about being so slow about noticing the little reply button inside the posts. LOL I cluttered up your blog, Brandi! I’ve got the hang of it now.

Leave a Reply

