Nucking Futs NaNo-er

5 Nov

I’m one of them. A November Word Warrior. Or in less glamorous terms, a Nucking Futs NaNo-er.  For most people participating in NaNoWriMo, November is the only time they write a book.  It’s easy to get caught in the romance and excitement of a creative endeavor.

But I write all year long and have no excuse for my frenzy. There’s just something about the energy of thousands of nameless people all over the world trying to write that gets me going.

It doesn’t matter that I have other WIPS that need TLC. It doesn’t matter that I have a billion and half other things going on for the month of November. I’ve committed to writing 50,000 new words on (in my case) two new projects and I’ll see it through to the end.

There will be zero word count days, sleepless nights and the uncontrollable desire to recruit anyone and everyone I meet to the cause. There will be less than healthy snacks, stories that zig instead of the zag and undiluted manic-panic that comes from creating on a clock.

My, but I do love the smell of word count in the morning.  Who’s with me?

Sasha

3 Responses to “Nucking Futs NaNo-er”

  1. Lisa Collins November 5, 2011 at 12:27 pm #

    I’mm with you! Last year I took on the roll of ML for my region USA :: Arkansas :: Searcy. So this in my second year being on of the “masterminds” behind the NaNo madness. I also get off on the collective writing. My best writing almost always comes from the write-in nights.

  2. Nara Malone November 10, 2011 at 4:01 pm #

    I’m in too. I’ve become a word Zombie.

  3. Crystal Kauffman November 12, 2011 at 3:12 pm #

    Last year I participated in Nano (breaking a few rules–haha) and Comes the Wolf was my Nano book. I go a little crazy in November and this year is no different. I just sit down and write whatever I want, madly and wildly. So this year it’s a futuristic bounty hunter meets vampires and zombies in New York city. Told you it was crazy!!

Leave a Reply

