Where’d The Time Go?

23 Oct

As I’ve mentioned previously, I’m very deep into converting my backlist to e-books. I had expected to do some updating and revising. I had not expected it to require as much as it has.  The first book I sold, DAYDREAMS, was the first book I converted. It went live last week…20 years after it first appeared! 

Yep, you read that right – 2 decades have passed in what seems like the blink of an eye to me. DAYDREAMS was written under the pseudonym, Marina Palmieri (my Sicilian grandmother’s name), because back then the publishers often included a clause in the contract whereby they legally owned the author’s name, even if it was her true name. Also way back then, I handwrote my manuscripts then typed them on a correcting Selectric typewriter. Adding one paragraph meant retyping the whole chapter. My first personal computer, a Commodore 64, was still a few years away. Cell phones and the world wide web were in their infancy and I did research using a set of encyclopedias or by making long-distance calls.

Technology was the most obvious area that I knew would have to be updated. There was no longer a need to go search for a pay phone when my heroine was not at home. Checking on someone’s background was no longer a mysterious, time-consuming procedure limited to law enforcement. 

What I hadn’t expected was the drastic difference in my writing style and the constant point-of-view “head-hopping” that was standard at that time. I was surprised at my use of terms, phrases or cliches that are no longer in use although they were once a part of everyday conversation. But the most shocking discovery was that I had scenes in the original that are now totally unacceptable for a variety of reasons, the mildest of which was having someone smoking a cigar in a restaurant. Heaven forbid!

Throughout the revisions, I kept thinking about all the time that has passed and all the things that have changed, for better or for worse. There is a very long list of things that have made my life easier or more enjoyable today than it was 20 years ago, but if I had to pick one, I choose … the microwave oven!

How about you? What is the one change or advancement that you appreciate most? 

****

 DAYDREAMS is a contemporary romantic comedy about a sexy Miami cop with a penchant for daydreaming and a feisty housekeeper with a grounded agenda that leaves no room for a man in her life. Jake’s fantasies about Kathy each start in different times and places but they all end up heading in the same direction. Check out the free first chapter to see what I mean.

First Chapter

Purchase

Marilyn Campbell

www.marilyncampbell.com; facebook: AuthorMarilynCampbell; twitter: marilyncampbel3

5 Responses to “Where’d The Time Go?”

  1. Brandi Evans October 23, 2011 at 3:28 pm #

    If you’d have asked me before becoming a mom, I probably would have said something like the cell phone or the flatiron, LOL, but now…I’d have to say the greatest advance in the modern age is disposable diapers, followed closely by baby wipes! 😉

  2. Marilyn Campbell October 23, 2011 at 5:38 pm #

    Oh Brandi, I remember those days well, but believe it or not, both of those items were on the market in 1980, when my daughter was born, so I actually never had to struggle thru the days of cotton diapers.

  3. Bond October 28, 2011 at 2:01 pm #

    I’m with you on microwaves. I think my hsuband would be too. He went out and purchased the first model Sears offered and brought it home as a form of self-defense. We’re probably the only people in the world who keep a backup microwave for when the main one breaks down. I really enjoyed this look back at just how much things have changed, sharp of you to catch all the little details.

Leave a Reply

