Mythical Beast

19 Sep

So there I am just merrily writing this story. It’s a good one, I think, and I’m enjoying writing it. Plus the heat level is through the goddamn roof and into next door’s garden, which always pleases me. Sometimes the heat level of my stories just sits in an easy chair and wants to eat a sandwich, and that’s never a good sign.

But no – this story is going okay. I like the characters. I like the heroine. I like everything about it except for one pretty big thing that I can’t seem to avoid no matter how hard I try…

It’s about guys who like to bonk each other, but also like women. Yep, that’s right. It’s my almost first foray into the world of bisexual delights, which I guess doesn’t really sound like a problem until you consider that almost all of the universe seems to think male bisexuality doesn’t actually exist.

I mean, all you have to do is traipse around the internet to see that. Bradley Cooper? Married a woman, dated many more, grabs boobs like there’s no tomorrow: gay. Can’t be bisexual. Bisexuality is just a thing people use to kid themselves, apparently.

In fact, you look at any sexuality rumour of some random celeb and the conclusion is the same: everyone is gay. No-one is bisexual. Bisexuality is like some Mythical Beast that haunts the IMDB message boards, frightening the children when they least expect it and devouring everything gay and straight in its path.

People scream when they see it coming. So my question is: are they going to scream when they read my story?

I just can’t shake the feeling that it’s a completely unrealistic fantasy, to imagine two guys experimenting in college, one guy getting married, and then all three of these characters having some fun years later. And not just because of the whole “could a married couple really invite a third person into their marriage and not implode” element.

It’s the Mythical Beast I keep coming back to. I like things to be as real as possible in my stories, and this great big many-limbed partially see-through thing keeps stomping all over things like sense and veracity. The Mythical Beast howls into the night: this is just a fantasy of Charlotte’s! She’s a pervert who wants to see Brandon Routh and Armie Hammer getting it on!

And that’s before I even getting into the fact that I’ve based my heroes on the aforementioned fellas. Because seriously:

Are you going to tell me the world wouldn’t collapse in on itself if these two got together? I’ve got to believe that something bad would happen. That’s just too much hotness for the world to deal with. I’m not even sure they could stand in the same room together without causing a seismic shift in the space-time continuum.

Doc Brown would definitely come and Great Scott us, for that shit.

And yet I’m writing it anyway. I want to write it. I don’t care if people think male bisexuality doesn’t exist – it exists in my head, okay? And for far too long men have gotten away with putting together the most ludicrous FF fantasies in the name of their loins, so I don’t think I’m really overstepping some uncharted mark.

I hope. I think. Oh God, what if I am?

 

8 Responses to “Mythical Beast”

  1. Lin September 19, 2011 at 1:43 pm #

    I’ll definitely be waiting for this one!

  2. Guy New York (@Quickiesnewyork) September 19, 2011 at 2:13 pm #

    I have a similar emotional response when I write bi-male stories. But then I post them and I get more wonderful feedback than I know what to do with. It feels like we’re entering a cultural shift that is just starting to eroticize male bisexuality. Recently, kissing other boys has been bringing all the girls to the yard.

    Looking forward to the story!

    • themightycharlottestein September 19, 2011 at 4:53 pm #

      Yeah, you’re right! Times are definitely changing in regard to what women will stand up and say they’re interested in, fantasy wise. And though a lot of us might be nervous about it, I think the time has come for us to say FOOK YEAH THIS IS HOT.

  3. Patrick Doris September 19, 2011 at 2:34 pm #

    i wrote a novel where the hero has to come to terms with his bisexuality it is not published but I think that is my fault not the fault of the bi sexuality angle

    • themightycharlottestein September 19, 2011 at 4:54 pm #

      Well, judging by the response I’ve had to this post here and on Twitter, I think we’re definitely onto a winner with the bisexuality angle. Keep plugging at it!

  4. Katie Lazarou (@TehHarleyQuinn) September 19, 2011 at 3:06 pm #

    Just thinking about Bradley Cooper having fun with other men has wiped me out for the evening. Oh Charlotte, I love you 😀

    • themightycharlottestein September 19, 2011 at 4:56 pm #

      Many an hour I’ve wiled away, watching and re-watching him getting the pounding of a lifetime in Wet Hot American Summer. Also: the A-Team kink meme gave me so many, many treats.

      And I love you too, bb! Thanks for stopping by to comment!

Leave a Reply

