But do you have a real book?

30 Aug

I swear, if I had a dollar for every time someone asked me that when they find out I’m a writer I’d be dripping in diamonds. *sigh* It’s funny how most people still don’t get the digital book phenomenon. Sure they’re open to it, let you explain it but then comes the inevitable question. “But do you have a real book?”  *bangs head on nearest wall*

I knew when I started looking at digital publishing as an option for myself that it would be unlikely I’d see my books on the shelves of my local book store. Okay, I WOULDN’T see my books there. But I’d embraced the digital world in my reading habits so it made sense to look in that direction for publication. Oh boy am I glad I did. I’ll be completely honest. There’s NO WAY IN HELL I’d be published now if I’d continued on the path I originally walked. For a start most of what I write is outside the box as far as my intended publisher is concerned. Both in heat and genre but I’m cool with that. I read a range of genres so there should be a range of publishers. But in this world of a rapidly changing publishing landscape people are not only learning about digital but devouring it.

I had a new question the other day. Actually it was more like a statement. “Oh, your one of those future authors. You know, with the no-paper kind of books.” Mmm….well yes, I guess that’s what I am. LOL On the heels of this conversation I discovered something that made me laugh my butt off. I’ve got another ‘real’ book. I don’t really broadcast I have a print books because for me this career is about digital so that’s where I aim my promo and such, but my first two novellas were bundled together for print last March and now another three have been bundled together. So I have ‘real’ books. I just forget I do most of the time. Don’t get me wrong, I’m thrilled that they’re on my shelf (well one is, I’m waiting on the other) and even more thrilled that I can sign them at signing events but for me it’s not what I’m aiming for. I don’t want a bookshelf full of books unless it’s a digital one. I get all excited when I load up one of my author pages and see my full list of available stories. For someone who struggled to send an email 6 years ago I’ve come a long way.

So how far have we come do you think? Will we be asking ‘print’ published authors if they’ve got ‘real’ books in the future?

Rhian

www.rhiancahill.com

  

Coyote Hunger – Print release of Coyote Run, Coyote Home & Coyote Wild.

Coyote Whispers – Digital release Bk3 Coyote Hunger series

Passport To Passion Collection – Print release of Once Night In Bangkok & Singapore Fling

5 Responses to “But do you have a real book?”

  1. Dawn August 30, 2011 at 2:28 am #

    I’m a huge fan of print books – I love the feel of a book in my hands and the smell (I know gross) of the paper BUT since I got my kindle over 90% of the books I buy are not ebooks. Why? Three main reasons for me 1 – Space 2 – travel (able to ready my wonderful smut anywhere) 3- new authors. I hope that ebooks won’t impact print like that but you never know AND I feel ebooks are really books. I have over 2000 of them and I can read them like any print. xoxox – Congrats on the new release

    • RC August 31, 2011 at 1:22 am #

      Gotta admit the smell of a new book gets me too, Dawn. I can’t wait to get my hands on a copy of Coyote Hunger.

  2. Marilyn Campbell August 30, 2011 at 2:16 pm #

    Congratulations on your new releases Rhian. As an old timer, I fought against the huge changes in the business for many years before finally giving up and joining the movement to digital. Now I have readers from the nineties asking when my old print books will be available in e-book. And my response is that I’m converting the backlist as fast as I can.
    As Dylan said, the times they are a-changing.

    • RC August 31, 2011 at 1:23 am #

      Times are a-changing! And good luck with getting that backlist uploaded. I hear many authors are doing brilliantly with their backlists in digital format.

  3. naramalone August 31, 2011 at 5:51 pm #

    I used to feel like the lone wild woman shouting from the wilderness, give me e-books. One, way out here in the sticks, we have no bookstore and even the library is an hour away round trip. Two, I love these sticks I live in and I hate seeing them cut down for pulpwood to make books. Now I see a shift toward e-reading, amazing the difference in just the past year. I’m still the lone woman shouting give me interactive, but I have a feeling that will roll out pretty fast once publishers figure out that’s how to make up their losses on hardback sales.

Leave a Reply

