“You write dirty smut? Wow! Can I ask…”

24 Aug

When people hear I write erotic romance, there are almost always questions. The questions are as varied as the people that ask them. Some are asked shyly, almost in a whisper, as if Jesus is standing behind us in the checkout lane and is trying to lipread. Others give a big delighted hoot of laughter and can’t wait to yell to people they know to “Come over here! This girl writes that dirty sex stuff!!!” Yes. Pleasure to meet you too, sir…

But there are a few questions that I seem to get most often, and they span the demographic as far as who is asking. So I thought why not write down my answers for my blog readers? Maybe they’ll want to know…or maybe they won’t give a rip. In which case, here’s your warning, the question and answer portion starts now. 😉

You’ll have to forgive my lack of makeup or any semblance of being pulled together. It was 1am. Having trouble with the video in the blog post? That’s okay, head HERE to view it on Youtube!

So tell me…if you found out someone wrote erotic romance, what question would YOU be dying to ask?

________________________________

KJ Reed is an erotic romance author. She writes sexy contemporary stories featuring alpha men and the women (and men) who can’t resist them. You can find out more about KJ, get behind-the-scenes glances at her books, and catch up with her blog by visiting her site: authorkjreed.com

5 Responses to ““You write dirty smut? Wow! Can I ask…””

  1. Dawn August 24, 2011 at 4:10 am #

    Very cute post!

  2. MichelleKCanada (@AnotherLookBook) August 24, 2011 at 5:29 am #

    Before I started talking with author’s I admit to having those questions. I think it is because you guys are so gifted because you can imagine and then write it down.
    In my mind I could not picture a menage scene playing out AND then write it down to make it hot and steamy. Well that’s because writing is not my craft. So when people can’t do that, they wonder how it is that you guys can. Well that’s my take on it and why I USED to ask those questions. hee hee

  3. shannonemmel August 24, 2011 at 10:02 am #

    KJ! Disclosing carefully guarded trade secrets, like sweat pants, t-shirts and feather duster hair is TREASON and could be punishable with up to 8 hours standing in a “Merry Widow” in 5inch platform FMP’s.

    …but since this is your first documented offence (and because I may have to borrow your video idea the next time I’m trying to come up with something at 1am the night before MY blog is due 🙂 ), I think we can let it slide…

    Loved it!

    –Shannon

  4. Erica Anderson August 24, 2011 at 2:27 pm #

    Love the video blog! I write in pjs, myself : )

  5. Brandi Evans August 24, 2011 at 2:30 pm #

    So loved this post, KJ. My sweatpants, too, are well-loved and well-worn. 😉

Leave a Reply

