Arousing the Brain

21 Aug

Are you hampered by tired brain syndrome? It can build slowly over time from pushing too hard or doing a repetitive routine for too long. Or it can hit unexpectedly for no obvious reason. Whatever the cause, we all seem to suffer from it eventually. When a shot of espresso fails to trigger a rise in your ability to think through a problem, a more creative solution is needed. Here are a few of my tricks –

1. I take a vacation from my current reality. This can be an actual trip to a different place but for me it only works if it is totally distracting like a weekend in Manhattan, Las Vegas or Disney World.
On a more economical level, I might spend an entire day at the movies.

2. I clean, organize or declutter something not at all related to what I got so burned out from. Sometimes the obstacle is just a feng shui thing.

3. I do a jigsaw puzzle while watching a movie or tv series from my video collection. Accomplishing something simple reminds me to take life one day, one piece at a time.

4. I get together with a friend and play a game that exercises the brain just for fun, such as Scrabble. I’ve also gotten a jumpstart by going to the mall with a friend and making up character profiles for people we see.

It wouldn’t take a psychology degree to discern some of my personality from the above. Obviously my tricks wouldn’t work for everyone. So, please share what you do to restart your brain when it goes on strike. Your suggestion might be exactly what someone else needs to hear today.

 Wishing you a day full of inspiration,

Marilyn Campbell

www.marilyncampbell.com

facebook: AuthorMarilynCampbell; twitter: marilyncampbel3

3 Responses to “Arousing the Brain”

  1. shannonemmel August 21, 2011 at 11:11 am #

    A Day at the Beach! That’s what does it for me.

    No one to bother me and I can close my eyes, relax and give my imagination free reign.

    Sun. Surf. Nearly naked bodies all around…

    LOL…What esle do ya need? Except perhaps a frosty adult bevereage 🙂

    Thanks for the tips. They sound like good alternatives for days when I can’t get to the beach to recharge my batteries.

    –Shannon

    PS: There were more great tips for giving your mind a jump start on a previous post–
    http://passionatereads.com/2011/02/27/writer%e2%80%99s-block-what-to-do-when-the-words-won%e2%80%99t-cum/#comments

    Enjoy!

    • naramalone August 23, 2011 at 6:01 am #

      I like to go hiking, or running, or kayaking. Getting out and moving around revives me.

      When I’m too burnt out for that, I like your idea of escaping to another world. I love exploring virtual worlds. Places built pixel by pixel from someone’s memories or imaginings never fail to spark new ideas in me.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Arousing reads | Yship - March 6, 2012

    […] Arousing the Brain « Passionate ReadsAug 21, 2011 … Are you hampered by tired brain syndrome? It can build slowly over time from pushing too hard or doing a repetitive routine for too long. […]

Leave a Reply

