I’m back…and I have prizes!

19 Aug

Who am I? you may be asking yourself. This Brandi Evans chick sounds familair, but I’m sorta drawing a blank.

Which is completely understandable. I haven’t been here in a while. Practically most of the summer. *hangs head in shame* Summer buried me. Completely. I could write a list of all my woes, but I have to face facts…you don’t care, LOL. πŸ˜‰Β However, at long last, I can finally announce that…

I’m a college graduate! Woo-hoo!

I’m done! Finally! No more homework. No more teachers. No more driving around for hours trying to find a parking spot that’s within a mile of campus. No more conjugating Spanish verbs!! (Which I’m the most thrilled about as I’m guess you noticed, LOL.)

And even better than being out of school…the kids are in school!

Can I get a cheer from all the mom’s (and dad’s) out there celebrating with me? *grin*

Now I know what you’re thinking. Prizes Brandi…you mentioned prizes! Yeah, yeah, I’m getting there. Sheesh.

For some fun on this Friday, I’m giving away $5 Amazon gift cards and books from my backlist to 2 lucky commenters. All you have to do is tell me how you celebrated your kids return to school.

Did you spend the morning at Starbucks writing (like I did)? Did you come back home and sleep until noon? Or maybe break ourΒ yourΒ toy box…? πŸ™‚

I’m looking forward to reading your answers.

Until next time…

XOXOXO
~Brandi Evans

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Brandi Evans is a stay-at-home mom with a serious addictionβ€”the compulsive need to tell sexy stories to whomever will listen! To learn more about her, visit her website atΒ www.brandievansauthor.com.

51 Responses to “I’m back…and I have prizes!”

  1. Jessica C. August 19, 2011 at 10:07 am #

    Congrats on graduating! My kiddo won’t be back to school until Monday, but I am so excited for him. All that learning during the day will surely tucker him out, so if he’s in bed on time Mommy and Daddy will have some more alone time πŸ˜‰ Congrats again!

    • Brandi Evans August 19, 2011 at 8:52 pm #

      Thanks, Jessica! I know school is sure tuckering out Kidlet1. She’s always partially zombie-fied when I pick her up from school. πŸ™‚

  2. shannonemmel August 19, 2011 at 10:18 am #

    Welcome Back, Brandi and congrats to the “New Grad”!

    My daughter is waaaaayyyy past school age, but my grandson, who is almost 6, is ELATED to be going back to school. He’s been talking about it for weeks.

    He absolutely loves his school, his teachers and friends. His first day back was yesterday and the huge grin on his face as he got out of the car and walked into the building, pretty much said it all.

    –Thank GOD for small favors!

    LOL

    • Brandi Evans August 19, 2011 at 8:54 pm #

      Hey Shannon! Kidlet1 had been elated too. She woke up the Sunday before school, got dress and then got mad at me because I told her school wasn’t “until tomorrow,” LOL.

  3. Amy S. August 19, 2011 at 10:18 am #

    Congrats on graduating college! I don’t have any kids, but do have nieces and a nephew. Believe me I was throwing a party on that first day of school. Unlimited time on the internet. Going anywhere I want without taking the kids with me. lol. They do come here around 4 so I still have about 5 hours a day with them, but it is a relaxing time while they are in school.

    • Brandi Evans August 19, 2011 at 8:56 pm #

      Going anywhere you want without kids in tow…most certainly a big, HUGE plus, LOL. I love those little rascals, but never being able to get away?

      *one straight jacket…large*

  4. Heather August 19, 2011 at 10:21 am #

    Congrats, Brandi!!! My lil’ man just turned 4 yesterday but I didn’t bother putting him in pre-k because I’m still at home studying. But I’m looking forward to him going to school next year. No more walking around a corner to see a tiny cowboy with a big ol’ rifle pointed at you (and yes, I do grab my chest and fall down every time), no more cleaning ‘around’ him, no more ‘mom, can you get me some coke,’ ‘mom, can you swing me,’ ‘mom, can we go the park,’ ‘mom, can you help me find my trucks,’ you get the point :). I love him to death and he’s my entire world but he just started sleeping in his own bed and I need my space, lol. Thanks for the giveaways and congrats again.

    chamblinh@gmail.com

    • Brandi Evans August 19, 2011 at 8:58 pm #

      You left out my favorite, Heather…

      “Mom, sister’s looking at me!”

      *grin*

  5. voraciousreader August 19, 2011 at 10:23 am #

    Congratulations on graduating!!

    *sigh*

    Number one starts her last year of college next week. Then I’ll have an official Chef! πŸ™‚

    Number two is home schooled and NEVER leaves! πŸ˜‰

    • Brandi Evans August 19, 2011 at 8:59 pm #

      Never leaves?! Bless you. Good thing you have a personal chef to keep the chocolate goods coming, huh? πŸ˜‰

  6. Patsy Hagen August 19, 2011 at 10:32 am #

    Congrats on graduating from college! You put in some years of hard work and now they are going to pay off.

  7. Marilyn Campbell August 19, 2011 at 10:53 am #

    Oh Brandi, I, a mother of 2 in college, am soooo proud of you. CONGRATULATIONS on your grand accomplishment!

  8. seachele71 August 19, 2011 at 11:49 am #

    i am not sure how i am handling it right now…my 10 yr old just started yesterday and i am exhausted trying to manipulate around all the school traffic that early in the morning without my coffee…CONGRATS to you though & welcome back

    seachele71@hotmail.com

    • Brandi Evans August 19, 2011 at 9:01 pm #

      Without coffee…? I’m, uh, not sure I know the meaning of those words, but they sound pretty durn awful! πŸ˜‰

  9. Regina S August 19, 2011 at 11:57 am #

    Hi Brandi!

    Congrats on your graduation. I know you must be elated, I would be! I don’t have any kids yet… but if I did, I’d probably celebrate with a day of nothing but reading and doing what I wanted to do, no interruptions!

    rshiderly@ec.rr.com

    • Brandi Evans August 19, 2011 at 9:03 pm #

      Thanks, Regina. I am elated. I started college in the fall of ’97, so this has been a loooooong time coming. (And as a side note to all you college students out there, DON’T change your major halfway through your senior year. It’ll really put you behind…)

  10. acm05 August 19, 2011 at 12:04 pm #

    Congratulations, Brandi! Hopefully, you got more out of the education process than I did and a more valuable degree than my B.A. in Liberal Arts (in Spanish so I know all about conjugating verbs).

    I don’t have kids, but I do work for a university. However, I work in a research dept. so it’s doesn’t really effect me except for longer waits in restaurants and stores.

    acm05atjuno.com

    • Brandi Evans August 19, 2011 at 9:05 pm #

      Hey, that IS my major, LOL. πŸ˜‰ I got it because it took the least amount of hours. πŸ˜‰ I had every intention of beginning a master’s program this Fall…but the hubs talked me out of it. Smart man.

  11. earlene August 19, 2011 at 12:42 pm #

    I unfortunately had to go to work when my granddaughter went back to school. It will be nice though when I take my vacation next month not
    to have to listen to (i’m bored and don’t have anyone to play with)

    • Brandi Evans August 19, 2011 at 9:05 pm #

      Ugh. Back to work. Aren’t those swear words in some language?

  12. Na August 19, 2011 at 12:57 pm #

    Congratulations!! I recently graduated myself so I can’t say how I celebrated my kid’s return to school but I know when I graduated we celebrated with a nice dinner πŸ™‚ Oh yes, then I went home and slept most of the next day away πŸ™‚

    • Brandi Evans August 19, 2011 at 9:06 pm #

      Sleeping the day away sounds just heavenly, but alas, Kidlet2 only goes to school in the morning. 😦

  13. jennifer mathis August 19, 2011 at 1:58 pm #

    i actually got me a nice bottle of wine and sipped it slowly while i cleaned without yelling at my children to move and get out of here. lol they say they didnt miss me either

    • Brandi Evans August 19, 2011 at 9:08 pm #

      LOL. I always tell my kids that if they’re in the same room as me when I’m cleaning, they have to clean too. Mysteriously, they always seem to disappear soon-after… πŸ™‚

  14. Kaily Hart August 19, 2011 at 2:13 pm #

    Congrats on graduating!!! I only have 1 back at school so far, 3 more are up on Monday. Sigh. I plan to write uninterrupted for as long as I can. Writing romance without the sounds of “Mom, she hit me’, ‘Mom, I’m hungry’, ‘Mom, I’m bored’, ‘Mom, Mom, MOM….’ just won’t be the same, but I’ll take it LOL.

    • Brandi Evans August 19, 2011 at 9:09 pm #

      Yeah, kidlet banter is ALWAYS a mood killer, whether it a love scene your writing or a moment alone with the hubby. 😦

  15. Fedora August 19, 2011 at 3:17 pm #

    Woohoo, Brandi! My kids haven’t returned to school yet, but I think I’ll be curling up with a good book and enjoying the lack of squabbling for just a wee bit πŸ˜‰

    • Brandi Evans August 19, 2011 at 9:28 pm #

      Oh yeah, I read 2 books after I’d finished class. I needed to decompress. It was just the recharge my muse needed. πŸ™‚

  16. Ju Dimello August 19, 2011 at 3:52 pm #

    Aha! I wish I had kids just to answer the questions here πŸ˜‰ I’d probably have picked up the box of toys!!!

    Congrats on graduating, Brandi!

    And thanks for the fab giveaway. Count me in. judimello AT gmail DOT com

    • Brandi Evans August 19, 2011 at 9:35 pm #

      Yeah, you can never go wrong with the toy box… *bats eyelashes*

  17. Lauren Fraser August 19, 2011 at 4:18 pm #

    Congrats on graduating.WAHOO!!!!
    Welcome back, we’ve missed you around here.

    • Brandi Evans August 19, 2011 at 9:36 pm #

      Thanks, Lauren. πŸ™‚ I’ve missed “hanging out” with you guys. πŸ™‚

  18. JoAnna B August 19, 2011 at 4:54 pm #

    Congrats on graduating!
    My kids don’t start school until next week and I while it will be nice to have them back to school, I will be going back to work after 2 weeks vacation.
    beckerjo at verizon dot net

  19. Shadow August 19, 2011 at 4:54 pm #

    Congrats! Yay! How exciting! Are you going to celebrate? I dont have any kids, to young yet. πŸ™‚ Welcome back! Hope you have a wonderful weekend and thank you for the awesome giveaway!
    shadowluvs2read(at)aol(dot)com

    • Brandi Evans August 19, 2011 at 9:38 pm #

      Thanks Shadow. πŸ™‚ My hubby took me out to breakfast after we dropped off the kidlets at school. It was so nice to eat a meal without having to be in “mama mode.”

  20. Mary Preston August 19, 2011 at 6:57 pm #

    CONGRATULATIONS!!! I hope you find some ‘me time’ now. I took a holiday after I graduated & came back a new person.

    marypres(AT)gmail(DOT)com

    • Brandi Evans August 19, 2011 at 9:40 pm #

      I can’t even begin to describe how much better I’ve felt this past week. It’s amazing the health benefits my “me time” is having. πŸ™‚

  21. naramalone August 19, 2011 at 7:27 pm #

    Congrats, Brandi. Good to have you back!

  22. Lisagk August 19, 2011 at 8:03 pm #

    Congratulations. I am in awe of you Miss Graduate. Even though it has been a while since I experienced my kids going back to school.. I used to take the day off just so I can have peace and quiet. Read a book uninterrupted. sit in my jammies all day and do NOTHING but what I wanted to do. lisagk(at)yahoo(dot)com

    • Brandi Evans August 19, 2011 at 9:42 pm #

      Yeah, there’s just something about sitting around in your jammies all day that just proclaims relaxation. πŸ˜‰

  23. Jen B. August 19, 2011 at 8:11 pm #

    I am working on my celebration plan. I think I might get a coffee and sit down and read. I need some me time! Congrats on finishing college. Thanks for the giveaway.
    jepebATverizonDOTnet

    • Brandi Evans August 19, 2011 at 9:43 pm #

      We can share a virtual cup at Starbucks Monday, LOL. *wink*

  24. Dale Ealey (@Daddydale52) August 19, 2011 at 9:08 pm #

    Congrats Brandi! More time to write!!

    • Brandi Evans August 19, 2011 at 9:44 pm #

      Thanks, Dale. πŸ™‚ More writing time is always a good thing. Besides, my poor muse was starting to think I’d forgotten her…

  25. Brandi Evans August 20, 2011 at 11:35 pm #

    Thanks to everyone for stopping by to comment and especially for the congrats. πŸ™‚ I wish I could gives prizes to you all, but alas, I’m poor, LOL. So without further delay, the winners of my contest are…

    Fedora & Na!

    Congrats! I’ll be emailing you tomorrow about your prizes. And thanks again to everyone who entered. TTFN

    • Jessica August 21, 2011 at 7:57 am #

      Congrats girls!

  26. Heather August 21, 2011 at 7:52 am #

    Congrats yall!

Leave a Reply

