Sometimes, ya just gotta say, “What The F%@K?”

14 Aug

 

Okay. I surrender…today is one of those days!

As I mentioned in a previous blog post, I’m working on three related manuscripts at the same time. Problematic, in and of itself, but making progress, nonetheless.

Until yesterday…in the weeee hours of the morning. That’s when IT hit me.

“It” was a migraine…no— it was THE migraine from hell.

 Couldn’t see. Couldn’t walk. Could barely talk except for the few words I mumbled into my cell phone to ask a SAINT of a friend to come over and get my Imatrex out of the kitchen cabinet and upstairs to me (along with a GIANT ice pack!)

It took several hours to get “upright” and several more to become anything close to functional. Needless to say, I didn’t get any writing done and that included my blog.

So! In an effort to try to make a bit more progress on my manuscripts, AND do my blog, I decided to give you a little “excerpt” of one of those three WIP’s.

In case you missed it, I’m working on a deliciously hot vampire series and this little tidbit is from the first one. My vamps are definitely the deadly variety. The eternal bad boys that you just can’t resist despite the danger.  For more of my thoughts on why that is, check out my previous blog “Fangs a LOT, Pal” ( http://passionatereads.com/2011/03/27/fangs-a-lot-pal-what-is-this-fascination-with-vampires/#more-3470 )

In the meantime, our skeptical heroine, Dr. Luna Sheldon has just learned that vampires exist, but still needs a little “convincing”… Enjoy!

**********

Luna watched Damon closely and it quickly became clear that this was no joke. The more he laughed the more his picture perfect teeth shifted to reveal the tips of equally perfect, razor-sharp fangs. She stared at him, stunned by the possibility that standing before her might be a real vampire.

Then as he stopped laughing and came toward her a second wave of realization hit. If Damon Kristof was a vampire she could be in serious danger.

“You shouldn’t believe everything you read,” he said, leaning in close and speaking softly. He put his hands on the arms of the chair, effectively caging her where she sat. “Vlad Dracula was a ruthless, bloodthirsty tyrant…but he wasn’t a vampire. And for the record Bram Stoker was a sexually repressed moron who couldn’t hope to satisfy his beautiful wife…especially not after she took a vampire as a lover.”

He was inches away and still smiling but the laughter had been replaced with something else. Something dark. Dangerous. Seductive.

Damon moved closer. Barely brushing her cheek with his own, his voice an intimate whisper in her left ear. “Curious about any other nonsense written about my kind? Since we’re alone I can think of a few myths in particular that I’d be more than happy to dispel.”

Luna felt her heart skip then begin to race wildly as she contemplated both the possibilities and the not so subtle innuendo in his remark. Images of heated naked flesh brushed her mind and with them, a shiver of lust, raw and uncontrollable rushed through her. Her nipples tightened and throbbed in response sending shards of pleasure straight to her pussy.

This can’t be happening. A low moan escaped her lips as she struggled to resist the desire that threatened to overtake reason. She tried desperately to focus her thoughts elsewhere and to remember anything she had ever heard about vampires. Sunlight obviously wasn’t much of a deterrent and if that were the case she seriously doubted that garlic or crosses or wooden stakes would be of any help either.

She fought to stay calm and find something she could use to talk her way out of the trouble she’d stumbled into. As he lingered so close to her she could feel him growing warmer with each passing second.

Warmer? Shouldn’t he be cold?

She cautiously raised her right hand to his shoulder then ran it slowly across to the bare skin above the collar of his black tee shirt. As she did she heard him inhale sharply.

Definitely warm. Very warm. And breathing, too?

Once again it occurred to Luna that this was all an elaborate hoax and she hated being on the receiving end of any joke. That single thought helped her hold on to reality. She considered calling his bluff and was tempted to whisper in his ear, ‘Be my guest…take a bite!’

But something stopped her.

Perhaps it was the inexplicable appearance of his fangs which she was certain weren’t there before. Or maybe it was something else. Either way she decided to err on the side of caution and try to hold her tongue. When she spoke she did her best to sound calm, rational and unaffected by his claims.

“Is it true that vampires have to die before they become vampires?” She whispered her question and heard a creak as his hands clenched the arms of the chair.

“Yesss…” His answer came in a ragged hiss.

“If that’s true why are you so warm and why did I just hear you take a deep breath when I touched you? Seems like those are two things the dead should not be able to do.” She smiled feeling a bit more relaxed and certain he wouldn’t have a supernatural explanation for either question.

He didn’t answer immediately. Instead he reached up to cover the hand she had at the nape of his neck with his own and move it to his chest. She could feel the heat of his body and the steady pounding of his heart. It was a simple act but for some reason it felt intensely intimate. She searched his face, his eyes, for some hint as to why and felt the beating beneath her fingertips instantly quicken.

“It’s what we call bloodfire,” Damon said, his voice strained. “It’s sparked when a vampire needs to feed or becomes…aroused. Some have more control than others and I, more than most. Without that control the bloodlust takes over and demands to be satisfied. Either by blood or sex…hence the term bloodlust.”

Luna wanted to laugh thinking he couldn’t possibly be serious. She hesitated when he crouched down in front of her. He was facing her now with his eyes closed and his hand still holding hers securely over his heart.

Thump. Thump…thump, thump.

Another surge of desire hit her with the force of a tidal wave and each beat of his heart was like another wave pounding, crashing into her. Want, need, hunger, lust—all washed over her leaving her breathless. Her body tingled from head to toe and her woman’s core throbbed.

“Control is the key to surviving in a human world,” he said, slowly opening his eyes and looking directly at her. His irises had gone completely black and the whites of his eyes were now a bright crimson.

“As I mentioned,” Damon said, his smile revealing fangs that had extended to a frightening length, “my control is…exceptional.”

Instantly Luna felt the beating in his chest cease and a moment later his eyes and teeth returned to what would be considered normal. With her hand still resting beneath his at the center of his chest, she felt the warmth fade from his body.

Within seconds, it was as though she was touching a block of ice.

************

Okay… that’s all you get.

For now 🙂

(Interested in MORE? PLEASE Let me know…I need all the encouragement I can get today, since I’m still fighting a massive  “Imatrex Hangover”!)

 And NOW…it’s back to work for me!

(I DO love my job!)

—Shannon

www.shannonemmel.com

writetome@shannonemmel.com

7 Responses to “Sometimes, ya just gotta say, “What The F%@K?””

  1. Heather August 14, 2011 at 8:02 am #

    Wow, I’m so sorry to hear your having a rough time. If it makes you feel any better at all your book book sounds great and I loved the excerpt. And I really like that pic of Spike (dreamy sigh) man, he’s good looking.

    • shannonemmel August 14, 2011 at 11:19 am #

      Thanks, Heather!

      Spike (aka “William the Bloody” 🙂 ) was always my favorite on that show…But then again–

      I’ve openly admitted that I’m partial to blonds!

      Glad you enjoyed the little teaser. I really like this series and the various “characters” that make appearances throughout. Still a little “groggy” but I’m working…

      Thanks again for your comment!

      –Shannon

  2. Desiree Holt August 14, 2011 at 11:00 am #

    Hey Shannon. My daughter suffers from migraines so I know exactly the kind of hell you are going through. I wish I had a magic wand for all of you,. So, okay, on to the vampires. I say right out loud that I am not a big vampire follower, but holy hell, lady, you have such a deft touch and are doing so well with these WIPS I just wrote them down in my memo book and will be watching for the sale and release. You might actually make a convert out of me. Love your style.

    • shannonemmel August 14, 2011 at 11:48 am #

      Hi Desiree!

      I really haven’t had a problem with the headaches since my sinus surgery. (We found out that the migraines were triggered by chronic sinus infections) Apparently, my new alergy med nasal spray has ( in the VERY fine print) an interesting side effect: “May cause infection, sore throat or headache…”

      LOL – Wish I’d known that BEFORE I used the damned thing!

      (Won’t make that mistake again…I was crippled!)

      Anyway- about those vampires…

      Thank you soooo much! I know that Vamps are NOT for everyone, so whenever someone tells me that they are intrigued enough to want to “give it a try”…well let’s just say that is the biggest compliment I can get.

      I’ll keep you posted!!

      –Shannnon

  3. Crystal Kauffman August 14, 2011 at 12:16 pm #

    You had me at “F%@K” 🙂
    Thanks for the excerpt! Hope you feel better soon.

  4. JUDY D August 21, 2011 at 6:03 am #

    SHANNON, HURRY UP, PLEASE.. YOU KNOW HOW I ALWAYS HATE NOT KNOWING THE ENDING.. LOL LOVE THOSE TRILOGIES! JUDY D

Leave a Reply

