The Test of Time

13 Aug

I’m not that old, but I get a kick out of saying things like I’ve been reading romances for over twenty years. Over that time I’ve read thousands of books and while my freakish memory allows me to remember most of them, I get a kick out of rereading ones from my earlier years to see if they stand up.

I’m always devastated when they don’t. Some authors had too much info dumping at the beginning and it was a slog to get through. Some wrote in sub-genres I no longer enjoyed.  The worst offender was the author who wrote the same book about thirty times over, merely changing the character names.  By the time I was rereading her third book, I was predicting the dialog and actions of all the characters (I was 97% right — they never seemed to swear as much as I thought they would) and unlike when I do so in mystery/suspense books I was ready to throw a shoe at someone.

There are several though that still rock my socks.  And though I’ve memorized whole passages of these books and reread them more than fifty times a piece, I still read them cover to cover because I love them so much.  So three of my oldies but goodies:

Texas Chase by Sandra Brown – I’m a sucker for marriage of convenience stories and who can resist a down on his luck Texan?  This is my favorite contemporary romance of all time and I victory danced when I lucked upon this paperback rerelease at Borders close out sale.

Night Magic by Karen Robards – By the time I discovered this book it was already out of print.  Imagine my sheer joy when I discovered this rerelease last Christmas. It was so deliciously 80s action movie when I first read it, and it still is. A romance writer and a burnt out cop on the run? Yes please!

Prince Charming by Julie Garwood – I like to say that Julie ruined me for all other historical writers. Her books are funny, sweet, sexy and always make me wish for a time machine so I can find myself a Highlander. This book is marriage of convenience + cowboys + comeuppance for jerks + awesome.

So what are some of your keepers that have withstood the test of time?

Sasha

One Response to “The Test of Time”

  1. Marilyn Campbell August 13, 2011 at 9:43 am #

    How right you are Sasha! The acceptable writing style has changed immensely over the past 2 decades. Readers today are accustomed to faster delivery and less head-hopping that’s for sure. It’s impossible for me to name just a few that I feel have stood the test of time because I actually have boxes of faves I’ve carried through a dozen moves over the past 20 years. And I’m pleased to say that a lot of those ladies are now in the process of updating & converting those oldies to ebooks (I’m one of that group). Wishing them all success!

Leave a Reply

