What’s your poison?

3 Aug

So…being shunned by my fellow country-people this week because I don’t like beer got me thinking about drinking. Deep, right? LOL. I grew up in Australia, but haven’t lived there/here for seventeen years and I’ve been visiting this week. The teasing was expected. Of course, I hated beer long before I ever left Australia. I just hate the taste and smell of it, even though I’ve had the occasional Guinness without too much trouble. I’ve been told it’s ‘unAustralian’ not to like beer. Over and over and over :), but there’s so many other great drinks to explore! Right?

I’ve found over the years my preference for the kind of drink I’ll order often depends on where I am. For instance:

When I lived in LA, I liked white wine spritzers.

When I lived in Houston, I was partial to martinis. The dirtier the better.

When I visit Vegas, I always order at least one Lemon Drop.

When I’m in San Diego, I often find myself wanting to order an alcoholic cider.

If it’s cold, or late, I love to sip on a Baileys over ice.

I drank a lot of apple martinis when I lived in New York.

If I go to ‘brunch’ I like to have a Bellini.

For a Sunday afternoon with hubby out grilling, I’ll pop open a Mike’s Hard Lemonade. Very refreshing.

Since I’ve been in Miami I’ve discovered dessert wines. If you ever get a chance, make sure you try an ice wine from Canada. OMG good!

I love to try new drinks, new mixers, especially when in other countries. I haven’t decided what my Australian drink is yet. It feels like it needs one, but I haven’t come across anything that fits yet. What’s YOUR poison of choice and do you have any suggestions for me?

6 Responses to “What’s your poison?”

  1. MichelleKCanada August 3, 2011 at 7:23 am #

    Hope you are having a great visit!

    I don’t really drink all that much alcohol. I really hate beer. I know a Canadian that doesnt like beer when we are famous for it. Everytime I think of beer I think of stinky beer burps. yuck!

    I do like the occasional Caesar but not spicy and no Tabasco sauce. Actually I prefer them virgin. LOL
    I do like a drink called “Mudslides” and you can buy them in bottles here in Canada but they go down way to fast and after 2 I am totally drunk…and still thirsty.
    A cranberry juice with vodka is a nice drink but they way I order is one shot of vodka and a tall glass of cranberry. The vodka is really diluted.

    Well one thing is for sure. I’m usually the designated driver.
    MichelleKCanada
    http://anotherlookbookreviews.blogspot.com/

  2. Marilyn Campbell August 3, 2011 at 8:52 am #

    Oh Kaily, I have faith you could find that Aussie drink even if it takes you a LOT of testing. I happen to like an occasional dark beer and most wine but the drink that has gotten me in the most trouble in my life because of the taste is….a Grasshopper.

  3. Dale Ealey August 3, 2011 at 2:49 pm #

    Kailey, how about a good old gin & tonic? Especially one made with Plymouth gin. Plymouth has a slightly deeper flavor than other british gins. I myself am english on both sides (my grandfather came over from Devon when he was 11) but, I’m in love with Guinness, something my black Irish wife finds so amusing.

  4. Kaily Hart August 3, 2011 at 6:45 pm #

    So re-reading this post makes me think I sound like I drink a lot! LOL. Not at all. Seriously. But if I’m going to have something I want something special.

    Michelle, the Mudslide is the drink I lived on when I went to the Cayman Islands many years ago. Delicious but lethal if you don’t watch out!

    Marilyn, I used to drink Grasshoppers when out at nightclubs during my university days in Melbourne. I forgot about that and haven’t had one since I don’t think.

    Dale, don’t like Gin all that much, but I did enjoy a Gin, Lime & Lemonade once upon a time.

  5. Pat Cochran August 9, 2011 at 9:56 pm #

    Love mimosas and margaritas but rarely, if ever, have a drink. Iced tea with lime not lemon is usually my drink of choice.

    Question: I’ve heard of dirty martinis, but what makes them dirty?

  6. Kaily Hart August 9, 2011 at 10:00 pm #

    Hey, Pat! I believe they use olive juice to make them ‘dirty’. Also, you just reminded me of my Miami Beach drink–Pineapple Mojito. Yum.

Leave a Reply

