I Have A Fever

16 Jul

And while I’m tempted to claim that the only prescription is more cowbell, I know it’s not.  It is the summer and oddly, I have Cabin Fever.

During the Fall/Winter months, when most people suffer from this malady, I’m in my element. I have a great nesting instinct and I love watching a brisk or cold day outside my window while I enjoy a warm beverage and bang out the word count.  Or at least until we reach that part of Chicago Winters where you swear the sun is a figment of your imagination and that we’ve entered yet another ice age.

I love summer, but my productivity is shot. It would be understandable if I was out cavorting in the sunshine (my cavorting is legendary I tells ya!), but I’m not really an outdoorsy person. I don’t have kidlets to throw off my schedule, and it’s not like my social calendar is any fuller than normal.  But the words have slowed to a trickle and I’m not sure how to fix that.

In the meantime, I’m going to eat a little ice cream, put in the time, and beat on my cowbell a little harder.

Sasha

3 Responses to “I Have A Fever”

  1. Marilyn Campbell July 16, 2011 at 9:44 am #

    Boy do I empathize with you Sasha. I’ve concluded it’s all the fault of the grade school system. From June through August I still think I’m supposed to be “on vacation” and not be required to do anything for which my brain must be in gear!

  2. judimello July 16, 2011 at 11:00 am #

    Right there, shaking the cowbell with you, Sash! Same case here!

  3. naramalone July 16, 2011 at 6:12 pm #

    More cowbell makes everything better. 🙂 I’m like Marilyn, when su,mer hits I want to sleep late and sit in the yard lsitening to the birds sing.

Leave a Reply

