Clyde the WonderDog

13 Jul

This past week, my puppy got very sick. But he’s doing so much better now, and he’s back home with us and on the mend. (Um, when I say “puppy” I mean a four year old!) So, if you’ll indulge me… I feel the need to do a little ode to my dog, who truly does bring a lot of love and laughter to my life, despite his brainless antics from time to time!

Clyde can dress like a fluffy pumpkin:

Clyde can wear a raincoat (albeit grumpily):

Clyde can be a sleepy head:

Clyde can (surprisingly) be very smart:

But most of all, Clyde is a snuggler, a lover, and my daughter’s best friend always:

I love this dog, despite his lack of common sense and ability to decipher the rules of gravity. But there is truly only one Clyde, and thank goodness he’ll still be with us for a long time. šŸ™‚

Have you ever had a family pet that you would clone in a heartbeat if you could?

_______________________

KJ Reed writes contemporary erotic romance featuring alpha males and the women (and men) who love them. You can follow her on Twitter via her handle, @authorKJReed, on Facebook, or at her website.

14 Responses to “Clyde the WonderDog”

  1. Dawn July 13, 2011 at 3:20 am #

    Yes! Jezebel my golden retriever. she was the best dog even. I just had to put her down due to age issues. Now I need to go look at her pic. Great memories.- Thanks and I love the outfits!! lol

    • KJ Reed July 13, 2011 at 12:33 pm #

      Aw, Jezebel is a cute name. Clyde is half golden retriever (Goldendoodle, so other half is poodle), and Hubs grew up with retrievers. He loves them. I’m sorry you had to put her down. But I bet she had a wonderful life. šŸ™‚

      Sadly, Clyde disagrees with you on the outfits. But that’s his problem. ha!

  2. Sasha Devlin July 13, 2011 at 6:30 am #

    I ā¤ Clyde! I was allergic to animals for so long that we've only had one pet, Alfonse Capone, a chow mix my brother just brought home one day. He's more like a person than a dog and I know I'm going to be a mess when he passes, but until then we get to enjoy his antics

    • KJ Reed July 13, 2011 at 12:34 pm #

      He’s hypo-allergenic. šŸ˜€ Doesn’t shed, has poodle-esque hair. Just golden coloring. And Alfonse Capone? Hilarious name for a pup!

  3. Marilyn Campbell July 13, 2011 at 7:03 am #

    Aaaaah. So cute. My entire life I claimed I was not an animal person. Then came Milk-Dud and Sweetie and I was proven so wrong! Can’t imagine life without a 4-legged companion now!

    • KJ Reed July 13, 2011 at 12:37 pm #

      I didn’t grow up with pets (my mom was so not gonna deal with it) so Clyde was definitely an education for me. But yeah, when he’s gone for a few days (like at grandma’s) then I find myself wandering around wondering where my foot warmer is! haha

  4. Savannah Chase July 13, 2011 at 7:06 am #

    He is so adorable…

    • KJ Reed July 13, 2011 at 12:39 pm #

      He really is. Totally suckered us in. We didn’t think we were ready for a dog, and then we saw him… True love, immediately.

  5. JoAnna B July 13, 2011 at 7:50 am #

    absolutely! My dog passed away last year. I probably won’t get another dog for a long time. She was one of kind. She was 17 and I had her before I had kids.
    Clyde is very cute.

    • KJ Reed July 13, 2011 at 12:39 pm #

      Aw. My in-laws lost their sweet dog about a year ago. Took awhile for them to be ready too. If the time comes I’m sure you’ll be ready for another furbaby. šŸ™‚

  6. Crystal Kauffman July 13, 2011 at 9:32 am #

    Oh he’s so cute! It’s so wonderful to have a “special” pet. Our cat Muffin was unique that way. In our household of 4 she was the truly special one I miss terribly. The others are just cats, but she was a person.

    • KJ Reed July 13, 2011 at 12:41 pm #

      Oh, Clyde is completely unaware that he is, in fact, a dog. He has personality traits like a human, he gives you human-like looks…and thinks he should be treated just like one of the kids. haha

      We had a cat at one point, and I swear she was a terrorist in another lifetime, trapped in a cat’s body. Her inner monologue was always “I kiiiiiill you!”

  7. judimello July 13, 2011 at 1:39 pm #

    I love Clyde already!! So cute..and I’m so glad he’s okay….

    I’m usually terrified of having pets of my own, since the puppy we had when I was v young got hurt and my dad gave it to a friend while we were on our summer vacation.. I still recall how despondent I’d been when I came back to an empty home.. Never again.. I get too attached to them to be “rational” or “logical”…

    Seems like a novel cliche where heroine gets hurt by one guy and wham, no more guys for her…

    But then real life is weirder sometimes šŸ˜‰ Like my own example…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. An Ode To My Dog - July 13, 2011

    […] about my pet pooch, Clyde. And I have some photos for you to check out as well. So head on over HERE to see if my dog is as cute as you think! I bet he is. Posted in Blogging, […]

Leave a Reply

