My summer vacation…

9 Jul

It’s hot summer days again – although actually, I’m pretty lucky in that regard. I live by the ocean in California. Hitting eighty degrees here is big news. Most of the time it’s foggy, even a bit chilly.

Still, it’s summer vacation – and what am I doing? Writing, as usual! Just finished a hot new m/m novel featuring a gay Marine discharged under DADT. It’s a book I’ve been wanting to write for a long time, but until the policy was officially repealed last December, I didn’t have an ending for it yet.

This time I did something I’ve never done before – I took a week off in the middle of writing, and headed up to San Francisco with a friend. Both unrepentant opera nerds, we had tickets to see Wagner’s Ring Cycle at the San Francisco Opera. Four nights of glorious music, interspersed with day trips to the Castro, Japantown and a whole bunch of museums. I arrived home with a rested mind all fired up to get back to work. Maybe I should take time off in the middle of projects more often!

Which is probably what I will be doing next month, when I head off to Authors After Dark in Philadelphia. I hadn’t planned on going until I heard they’d had a few authors cancel at the last minute. Considering I’m also attending Ellora’s Cave’s RomantiCon at the end of September and GayRomLit in New Orleans two weeks after that, you might say I’m a bit crazy.

Oh, go ahead. You know you want to.

This is the first year since I got published (in 2008) where I seem to have caught the traveling bug. Writing is a solitary job, but that’s okay – I’ve never been much of a “people person,” so working alone suits me. But every now and then it’s nice to venture out of my writing cave, blink hard into that bright, bright sunlight and interact with the rest of the world.

Once you get a couple drinks in me, it’s actually rather enjoyable. ☺

_________________________________________________________________

Cat Grant is the author of twelve smokin-hot erotic romances, including the Icon Men series from Ellora’s Cave.

Like her on Facebook.. Follow her on Twitter.

4 Responses to “My summer vacation…”

  1. KJ Reed July 9, 2011 at 4:40 pm #

    I’ll be at RomantiCon too, so we’re definitely going to have to have a drink! I don’t know if I’m any more fun with a drink in me (I’m already like a party in a bag. lol) But we definitely will have to hang out. 🙂

    • Cat Grant July 10, 2011 at 11:32 am #

      Yes, definitely! I can’t wait. Looks like it’ll be a great time.

  2. judimello July 10, 2011 at 9:01 am #

    I haz envy!!! No travel for me.. But I’m loving seeing all the photos and the fun !!!!

  3. Crystal Kauffman July 10, 2011 at 2:56 pm #

    I’m envious too! It’s a staycation for me and the hubby this year because he doesn’t want to leave our elderly cat with a pet sitter. We’ve had some bad luck with those. Maybe I’ll take a onecation to Romanticon. I’d love to meet up with everyone.

Leave a Reply

