Gemma Halliday: Reality TV I Love To Hate

7 Jun

Hi all my Passionate Readers. We have a very special guest today, Gemma Halliday. She has her third installment of the Hollywood Headlines series, Hollywood Confessions. Gemma is hilarious, a fantastic writer, and she’s got a fun prize to give away! So here we go!

__________________

Thanks so much to the lovely Passionate Reads ladies for hosting me today for day five of my two week Hollywood Confessions Blog Tour!  Please check out my website for more tour stops, as I’ll be giving away cool prizes (including gift cards, free books, cameo appearances, and Hollywood Headlines collectibles) at each stop!

Hollywood Confessions explores the sexy, scandalous, and sensational world of Hollywood through the eyes of tabloid reporter, Allie Quick.  Allie has high aspirations – much higher than reporting on the latest celebrity gossip for the L.A. Informer, Hollywood’s most notorious tabloid. But if she’s going to join the ranks of the real reporters, she’s going to need a headline worthy story under her belt. Luckily, she gets just that when the producer of the trashiest reality shows on TV winds up murdered, and Allie convinces her editor, Felix Dunn, that this story has her name written all over it. Between an aging dance-off judge, a family with sextuplets and triplets, and the star of a little person dating show, Allie has no shortage of reality stars to question. But when she finds herself falling for her prime suspect, Allie’s relationship with her editor is suddenly on the rocks, and her life is in danger. This is one deadline Allie can’t afford to miss!

I dedicated this book to reality TV stars everywhere because, let’s face it, they have provided me not only with great story fodder, but with countless hours of pure veg-worthy entertainment.  Take this past May sweeps for instance: my DVR was so full of reality show finales that I was at 99% capacity.  It seems like every channel is jumping on this band wagon with more and more outrageous shows lately.  So, here are a few of my favorites…

Can’t Miss Shows

For me, these are the I-must-DVR shows that I will moan, wail, and cry over if I miss.  American Idol tops the list – we not only DVR it in our house, but watch it live, too, just in case.  We’re that addicted.  A close second is Survivor, followed by Amazing Race, Project Runway, and Top Chef.

Oddly Fascinating Shows

These are the ones that when I was first told about them, I kinda did a “Huh?  They made a whole series about that?”  But after watching one episode, I found myself searching the on-demand menu for more.  Topping this list for me is Four Weddings, followed by House Hunters, A Baby Story (my one year-old is strangely drawn to this show), and Extreme Couponing.

Train Wreck that I can’t Look Away From Shows

You know what I mean.  The title says it all.  Tops of all time for me has to be Bridalplasty.  A house full of bimbo brides-to-be’s vying for not only the dream wedding but weekly plastic surgery procedures, too?  Does not get any trashier than this.  But a close second would be Mob Wives (though, I’m almost afraid to say that because those chicks kinda scare me), and after that, My Strange Addiction.

And the one reality show I desperately wish they would bring back… The Mole.  I loved that one!  It was such an honest mystery trying to figure out who the mole was every season, and particularly cool when they did the celebrity mole show.

So, what are you fav reality shows?  The ones you love or just love to hate?  Leave your answer in the comments below and you’ll be entered to win a Hollywood Confessions Beach Tote!  Perfect for taking your paper books or ereader on the go this summer in style. 😉

Happy reading!

~Gemma Halliday

http://www.gemmahalliday.com

HOLLYWOOD CONFESSIONS

available now in:

Paperback Print

Kindle

Nook

Ebook

________________________

Thanks for stopping by, Gemma! Everyone, go ahead and comment with your favorite reality TV shows that you love to hate, or just plain love, to be entered in a chance to win the cute tote bag from Gemma. I’m looking forward to everyone’s answers!

12 Responses to “Gemma Halliday: Reality TV I Love To Hate”

  1. Mary Preston June 7, 2011 at 6:10 am #

    I love SURVIVOR & THE AMAZING RACE, but my new passion is for SO YOU THINK YOU CAN DANCE. I have become such a dance critic. Mind you I can’t dance to save my life. I listen to the expert judges & agree or disagree. It has become interactive television for me. I actually cheer & boo. My daughter is threatening to prohibit my latest vice.

  2. Jerri June 7, 2011 at 6:22 am #

    Right now my favorite is Real Housewives of Orange County.

  3. Marilyn Campbell June 7, 2011 at 6:25 am #

    Thanks for stopping by our blog Gemma. Hollywood Confessions sounds terrific. I also wish The Mole would be renewed. My faves are all competition oriented like the Dance shows, but I loved Face-Off most this year (Hollywood make-up artists) & it is supposed to be renewed.

  4. Heather June 7, 2011 at 8:19 am #

    Hi Gemma, my fave reality show right now would be ‘Animal Cops’ but I do tend to watch a lil’ of ‘Bad Girls Club’ and ‘Big Brother’ when my nose isn’t stuck in a book 🙂

  5. Gemma Halliday June 7, 2011 at 8:36 am #

    Awesome picks!

    I have to admit, this is the first I’ve heard of ‘Face Off’. It sounds like totally my type of show, though. Must look for that one…

    I keep meaning to watch the Houswives, but I always seem to catch it mid-season. I might need to wait for the DVD.

    Keep ’em coming!

  6. Linda McDonald June 7, 2011 at 9:43 am #

    Right now I’ve been watching the Real Housewives of Orange County. I also like Bethenny Ever After because I really like her, and I read her latest book which is awesome….very motivational actually. Occasionally I’ll watch Animal Cops. I’ve never heard of Mob Wives before….sounds pretty interesting just by the name!

  7. K.S. Manning June 7, 2011 at 12:28 pm #

    I used to be very interested in Reality shows, particularly Survivor, Amazing Race, and Big Brother. My sister-in-law actually thought she’d get me to audition with her for Big Brother a few years back but can you imagine a writer stuck in a house for 3 months with no paper or anything to write on. *shivers* Still gives me nightmares just thinking about it. I still watch these occasionally but really don’t care anymore if I miss them. Dancing with the Stars was an addiction for me this past season but only because of Kirstie Alley. If only she and Maks would do a ‘fat girls’ dance workout video. I’d totally buy it. LOL. Never saw any of the Real Housewives but hubby likes watching House Hunters and other home shows. I keep telling him that we are not moving again (unless he tries to do another home renovation…then he’s moving but I’m staying here. LOL)

    • K.S. Manning June 7, 2011 at 12:41 pm #

      Oh, I forgot about Deadliest Catch. I guess that’s become my Reality Show ‘crack’ now since I’m even writing a story inspired by it. 🙂

  8. Earlene June 7, 2011 at 12:31 pm #

    I only watch a few, American Idol, Dancing with the Stars and So You think You can Dance are about the only ones. I can’t believe some of these shows. Most of them are just ridiculous. (well that’s my opinion anyway.) I watch the discovery channel, nat geo wild, the learning channel and those types of shows.
    I really don’t care about who is sleeping with who, who is stabbing who in the back, who is fighting with who.

  9. Andrea I June 7, 2011 at 2:53 pm #

    I’m enjoying The Voice; it’s different.. I also started watching America’s Got Talent this year.

  10. Gemma Halliday June 7, 2011 at 6:35 pm #

    Deadliest Catch! Another new one for me to try!

    The boyfriend and I have started watching The Voice, too. We needed something to fill the American Idol void, and it’s actuallybeen pretty good.

    Earlene – Yep, most are pretty ridiculous. But… I still can’t tear myself away! Lol!

  11. Gemma Halliday June 7, 2011 at 8:52 pm #

    Okay, prize time, ladies! I’m having the boyfriend pick a post number at random… and the winner is… K.S. Manning! Just send me your contact info, and I’ll get your awesome beach tote out to you ASAP! gemmahalliday at gmail dot com

    Thanks again for hanging with me today! I had a blast!

Leave a Reply

